Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
For people who prefer not to use powdered milk or a bread machiene: Use 1 and 1/4 cups milk. Heat milk til scalding and add butter. Set aside til lukewarm, add honey and sugar. Proof yeast in mixture then add salt and cornmeal. Gradually stir in flour and kneed for 8-10 minutes. Cook in 350º oven for 30-35 minutes. Works great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was a very good wheat bread. I had to add about 1/3c more flour. I will reduce the sugar and honey next time by half, as I found this bread a bit sweet for everyday use. I don't keep cornmeal in my pantry, so I used 1/4c of Red River (or sunny boy) whole grain cereal. I love hearty whole grain breads, and this is better than any other bread machine loaf I have made from my bread maker. I did my last rise out of the machine, basted it with butter, and baked at 350f for 25 mins next time I will bake at 325f for at least 35 mins, as it was a bit under done, but the crust was quite dark. I also made a second batch, and divided it into 12 dinner rolls and baked at 325f for 35 mins these turned out perfectly. Thanks for a great starter recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
Yeah!! I finally found a wonderful and easy wheat bread. My husband and I loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
This is great bread, very moist. I enjoyed the corn meal crunchy crust but I usually make it without the corn meal and instead add more whole wheat. My kids especially love it this way for their peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I feel great giving my kids such healthy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This recipe was AWESOME. I grind my own grain so I used freshly ground wheat and cornmeal; and what I came up with was a moist and delicious loaf. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
The best flavor of any whole wheat bread I've made. My 13 year-old daughter had a piece this morning, plain bread with nothing on it, and asked if I would make it again. That's pretty high praise. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This recipe produces a great light textured wheat bread. The corn meal gives added goodness to texture and taste. I made a few minor substitutions such as using powdered buttermilk for regular powder milk, 2 cups of whole wheat flour plus 1 cup of bread flour. My only problem was I used 3 teaspoons of dry yeast which was too much with the bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Very good texture! I love it toasted with cream cheese and cinnamon/sugar sprinkles1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Very wholesome, very easy, very delicious. Everyone around my table love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
This is the one I've looking for. It is super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States