Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Perfect height with a beautiful texture. Couldn't really notice the cornmeal but there was a strong honey taste. I will make this again but probably add some flax and sunflower seeds to make it a bit more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Nice coarse whole wheat with a great flavor. What you think old fashoined wheat bread should taste like. Followed recipe exactly except substituted butter for margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Mmm....wonderful! I like to play around with the ingredients a bit. Sometimes I add more cornmeal, throw in a quarter cup of oats, add a few tablespoons of wheat germ, or substitute the honey with molasses. This recipe is flavorful, versatile, and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
It does have a dark crust but it just shows you are eating well! I really liked the crunch from the corn meal however it dries out pretty fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very good! Very good flavor & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Bread was low rising, which I expected, it lacked flavor and had a crumbly texture. The recipe would probably work better with 1 1/4 tsp of salt, this will yield a slightly higher rise in the loaf (if you use the original recipe) as too much salt will kill the yeast. Adding 2 C. Whole Wheat flour and 1 cup white bread instead of the 3 Cups Whole Wheat flour will definately yeild a better loaf with less crumbling. 4 Tb of cornmeal was plenty for me. Adding the ingredients from the bottom of the recipe to top will also help keep the salt from direct contact with the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
By the time I finally got to bake the loaf of bread, it no longer even remotely resembled the recipe. I had to add gluten to it...1 tbsp. I also had to add more flour. It may have been due to the humid weather we have been experiencing. Without "real" directions, I had to make educated guesses and a lot of help came from all the other reviews. I did not use a bread machine. I never had any luck with these. I just used my Kitchen Aid and oven. The recipe had a lot of potential. It was indeed a very dense bread even with the gluten added. Also, it called for too much honey. I left the sugar out and it still was VERY sweet. I know you need some kind of sugar for the yeast but I think I could have gotten by with even less of the honey. The website needs to distinguish breads as either bread machine or oven baking. I am going to try this again when our hot/humid summer is gone. I have hopes for this recipe as I would very much like to steer away from the use of any white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Really heavy and didn't rise well. I wasn't very happy with the flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This tastes good, and that counts for a lot. You can really taste the honey. However, at least in my bread machine (with fresh yeast), the loaf came out small, dense and underbaked. Make sure to put your machine on the darkest crust setting. I really enjoyed it but it looked like a bump on a log!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
My husband is the bread-addict, so I let him rate this one. I prefer quick breads, but this was a good and easy wheat option. (I calculated 35 WW pts per loaf)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States