Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Good wheat bread. The bread was very dense and heavy. The taste has a nice light honey taste. When toasted the crust has a nice crunch. My son liked this bread alot. I thought is was a litte heavy, but the taste was very nice. I may try to lighten this loaf up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
A nice, hearty bread. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I used this recipe as the dough for some sweet rolls I made, and thought it worked pretty well. I liked the texture and flavor. Even with this being used as a base for sticky buns, you could still taste the honey. I made the dough by hand but had to use quite a bit more flour. I also added 1 1/2 t of gluten to make sure I got a good rise from the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I have made this twice now, following the recipe exactly. We loved it! It's easy to make and the bread is really delicious. It also stayed good longer than most bread machine breads I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was a good recipe. I probably wouldn't make it again though. For some reason I didn't like the cornmeal element. I made this by hand, with advice from another reviewer. This a good recipe to try out because it doesn't use up much of your ingredients if you happen not to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
What a great recipe! This is the only wheat bread my family will eat now. I added oatmeal instead of the cornmeal because my family has a texture thing. The only problem I had is that I like to slice the bread and then freeze it. When I thaw a piece out it tends to fall apart. Someone suggested adding gluten. Any suggestions? If I need to add gluten, how much? Thanks for any input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This bread turned out great,although a bit sweet for my taste. Next time I will try leaving out the sugar. I used my bread machine to make a dough and then allowed it to rise & baked at 350 for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
For people who prefer not to use powdered milk or a bread machiene: Use 1 and 1/4 cups milk. Heat milk til scalding and add butter. Set aside til lukewarm, add honey and sugar. Proof yeast in mixture then add salt and cornmeal. Gradually stir in flour and kneed for 8-10 minutes. Cook in 350º oven for 30-35 minutes. Works great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was delicious, cornmeal gives it a slightly different taste. I had to add a little more flour in though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Perfect height with a beautiful texture. Couldn't really notice the cornmeal but there was a strong honey taste. I will make this again but probably add some flax and sunflower seeds to make it a bit more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States