Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I had high hopes for this bread after reading so many of other users reviews. I added 2 tsp of gluten flour (couldn't find vital wheat gluten), upped the yeast to 2 3/4 tsp. But still, the bread came out dense, hard and flavorless. It seemed to rise until the punch down in the bread machine, then it never rose again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOSLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
For now I'm giving this three stars. The lack of manual instructions is frustrating, especially for those of us who don't want to use a bm. Thanks to the user who posted non-bm instructions! The flavor is ok, but a tad sweeter than what I wanted. My bread didn't rise at all, but I think that is probably my fault: I only had 2.25 tsp of yeast, and I didn't let the dough rise after kneading. I will be trying this again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I love to slice this thin, and then toast it on the dark setting. The cornmeal really stand out then, and makes a great crunchy, satisfying piece of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe. You could easily reduce the honey, as it is quite sweet for everyday bread. My 8 year old, however, did not like the cornmeal texture. I have also made it with oatmeal and molasses instead of honey and cornmeal. Add some gluten (available at health food stores) for more rise and more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I have made this recipe twice using the dough cycle and baking in oven. I did not change anything the first time and it turned out too sweet and did not rise very well. The second time, I omitted the sugar. That was the only change. I got a nice light fluffy loaf of 100% whole wheat bread. I did not add gluten flour to either loaves. I have been making whole wheat bread for my Granddaughter for two years and it's the only bread she likes. I feel that adding half white flour or one cup of white flour defeats the purpose of making whole wheat bread. With two and 1/2 teaspoons of yeast in this recipe, it should rise very well. Those that add gluten have an even better chance to get a light fluffy loaf without adding white flour. It is my understanding that white flour turns to sugar in your body, who wants that? Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
a very good tasting bread. had no trouble converting to mixer. Plus 16% fiber to 3% fat is the best ratio i have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
One of the best wheat breads I've tried. A perfect, big loaf. Used less honey & sugar and it was still sweet. I always add Vital Wheat Gluten to my wheat breads. I've also figured out with my bm, I have to use the rapid yeast & the rapid cycle. Really nice loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I liked the cornmeal crunch in this bread. It made good grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Incredible recipe! I changed some minor things about it to make it lighter and tastier: 1.Replace the water with milk and eliminate the powdered milk. 2.Cooked it as the picture shows: 6 good sized rolls, great for soup. 3.Replaced 1/3 of the whole wheat flour with bread flour. 4.Cook @350 for 33-35 mins. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I've never had much luck getting whole wheat bread to turn out like fluffy sandwich bread, but this one did great. I substituted in a cup of bread flour the first time, and half cup the second time- I had to let it rise a little longer the second time, but it still turned out light. Also I always use wheat gluten and dough enhancer with my whole wheat flour. I used the wheat dough cycle on my bread machine, then let it rise in a bread pan and baked at 350 for 30-35 minutes. It turned out great! I like the sweet flavor. I didn't have any honey, so I just used sugar. This is my new standard bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States