Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Despite the reviewer below who says this isn't a whole wheat bread recipe - this is one of the best whole-wheat bread recipes I've ever used and I've been making bread for over 40 years. There are many whole wheat recipes that use half white flour. Concession I made: I only used the 1 c.brown sugar, eliminated the other sugar. Because I like to make my bread in a KitchenAid Mixer, I put half of each of the flours and all the rest of the ingredients in the mixer bowl. When that was well mixed, I poured the batter into a measuring cup, and then returned half of that to the mixer. I then added half of the balance of each of the remaining flours. This gave me more managable pieces of dough to work with. I added an extra 5 minutes or 50 turns of kneading by hand to each piece, then kneaded the two pieces together to rise. This bread makes wonderful toast, a great sandwich or just plain with butter. My husband raves about the bread everytime he has a slice. Thanks for a great recipe. It deserves more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This is the best whole wheat recipe I have come across. I have been able to replace the white flour with 50/50 flour making the bread 3/4 whole wheat without sacrificing moisture or texture. It is best if you add the boiling water to the whole wheat and give it about 20 minutes to soak it up, that way you won't knead more flour into it than you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taichung, Taichung, Taiwan
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Great recipe!! I didn't have bread flour and used regular white and wheat flour and it still turned out great!! makes 4 large loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHIEH63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was a really good basic wheat bread recipe. It was so wonderful to have 4 loaves done. I felt like I accomplished so much that day! Try making it into 2 loaves, some breadsticks and some wheat rolls from the dough. Then freeze! I will make a few changes to my next batch. I will decrease liquid by 3TB and replace the brown sugar with honey (you need to decrease liquid when subbing in honey). I will add some vital wheat gluten for a chewier texture. As is, this bread is very crumbly/lots of crumbs. So if that is what you prfer don't add gluten! Also, I prefer all whole wheat, so I will not add any white flour next time. This is wonderful recipe as is or with a few minor changes! Thanks for the submission--this one will be used weekly by me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was a great bread. It came out light and slightly sweet. Since my loaf pan is smaller, I just cut off a bit of dough and used it to make cinnamon rolls. Those were really great too and had a new earthiness to them. I will make this again. To the reviewer saying this is not a whole wheat bread: Technically, it is. It just isn't 100% WH. The term whole wheat is a modifier on the bread just like rye is to rye bread even though it's not made with all rye flour. Most whole wheat breads you'll find in stores aren't 100% either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Fool Proof!!! I replaced the brown sugar with Splenda Brown. I left in the white for the yeast to work. Loaves are large and light and tender. Good holes and good crumb. Freezes well and makes good toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I used just regular whole wheat and unbleached flour and it turned out great. Lots of delicious bread and it was fairly easy to do. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Good taste, but crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I have been looking for a good whole wheat recipie, finally found it! thank you! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is a GREAT basic whole wheat bread recipe. I used butter instead of shortening and mixed the whole wheat flour with the hot water instead of using the bread flour for that step (the hot water helps soften the whole wheat). I also halved the recipe. This will be a regular feature in our house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States