Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
My 4 year Old & 18 Month old love this bread. I changed it up a tad and make it in my bread machine, and only make 1 loaf. Here is my Bread machine version of it YUMMY!! 1.25 C Warm Water, 1 tsp salt, 2 Tblsp melted butter, 1/4 C Brown Sugar, 1 Tblsp white sugar, 1.5 C Bread Flour, 1.5 C Wheat Flour, 1.5 t yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayAtHomeMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is definitely 5 stars x 2! Easy to follow directions and not too time consuming either, especially considering that you get 4 big, beautiful loaves of bread. I've been trying all winter to bake a nice, whole wheat bread but haven't had any luck until now. This recipe is the bomb! I followed it exactly, making no changes. I did not need all 6 cups of whole wheat flour - which has to do with the moisture content of my flour and not the recipe. I docked three of the four loaves with nice slashes to allow for the extra rising in the oven and the fourth loaf I dusted with WW flour and then sprinkled on some bran. They look like something straight from an artisan bakery (can you tell I'm proud?). Oh, and the taste is divine - with molasses, toasted as a sandwich (yummy BLT for lunch for me!), or just plain. It has a lovely crumb - not dense, just a light, fluffy slice of heaven. Next time I make this I will gradually decrease the bread flour and increase the ww flour. I'll keep you posted. Thanks so much for the most amazingly, delicious, easy bread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
everybody loved it. Good stuff. I made 3 loaves and about a dozen dinner rolls with the left over dough. The dinner rolls were so cute! I cut a strip of dough, streached it and tied it in a knot, brushed with egg whites and baked. So pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is the first Wheat Bread I've tried outside the bread machine. I did have to add about 2 additional cups of flour to get the right consistency, but that was the only adjustment I made. We pulled it out of the over and tried it immediately and the kids and I all thought it needed a little something, but with the honey butter on top, we inhaled it! It's very filling, but not too heavy, and I like the texture the home ground wheat flour gave to it. I'll be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I've made three batches in the past 24 hours and they've all turned out! I tweaked it by adding canola oil instead of crisco and my last batch I used honey instead of brown sugar and water. I've also been increasing the amount of wheat flour and decreasing the white flour just for the flavor. It hasn't affected the proofing and size of loaf. Not the "hard as a brick" wheat bread I'm used to making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I used just regular whole wheat and unbleached flour and it turned out great. Lots of delicious bread and it was fairly easy to do. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very good recipe. I prefer 100% whole wheat bread so I used all wheat flour and it came out great! I was a little unsure about the amount of sugar it called for but it wasn't too sweet at all, it is a new favorite! I made it in my Kitchen aide and everything worked great, the recipe wasn't too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is good bread and it was easy to make. If you're having stickiness problems, just incorporate more white flour in, a little at a time, as you knead. That's what I did and it came out fine. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This is by far the best sandwich bread I've ever made. The bread slices nice and thin with an electric knife. I had to add more flour than the recipe called for, but the finished bread texture was still great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good bread! We made 2 loaves. Its great bread to snack with, toast, sandwhich, its all around great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States