Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made three small changes: I used a teaspoon each of baking powder and baking soda, melted butter instead of vegetable oil and I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. My applesauce was homemade. I always bake my muffins at 350 for 20 minutes. Nothing wrong with this recipe's bake time, it's just something I've always done (I bake A LOT of muffins, too!) These muffins turned out so good! Just the right amount of sweetness, perfectly moist, very flavorful. My sons and I really liked the combination of the blueberries and applesauce. Out of 12 muffins, there's two left. My sons ate most of them up this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
So delicious! A used frozen blueberries becuase I didn't have fresh on hand and added a crumb toping (from the banana crumb muffin recipe on this site) - Sprinkle over muffin batter a mix of 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2 tbl flour, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1 tbl butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I've never tried a recipe that had no reviews written yet, but these looked good, so I thought I'd take a chance. So glad I did, because these are excellent!!! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out very well. I love that these taste like muffins and not cake. I got 18 muffins, not 12. If I had filled the muffin cups fuller, I could have gotten the 12 as stated in the recipe. But it would have been nearly to the very top of the tin, and I didn't think you should fill them that much. Next time I make them (maybe tomorrow) I will see what happens when I put all the batter in 12 muffin cups. Usually I try to make a recipe healthier, but this one is great as is!! (And I do love sweets, so this isn't coming from someone who only eats "healthy" food). My 3 year old also loves them. Thanks Rebecca, for sharing your recipe! Oh, and as a side note I grind my own whole wheat flour and then put it in the freezer...so it is more fresh than what you can buy at the store. I don't know how much that has to do with how great these turned out. Oh, one more thing! I only had frozen blueberries, so I just added them right from the freezer. They were not fully frozen but that's because my freezer doesn't work very well. :) UPDATE: I made these again this morning and only made 12. The cups look more like 3/4 full, but they rose nicely and turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I never rate anything online, but I loved, loved, loved these muffins. I did add the tsp. of baking soda and baking powder and used butter in place of the vegetable oil as another reviewer recommended. I also used whole wheat pastry flour in place of whole wheat flour, which I find has a much lighter consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Great, I used Splenda. I made them with chocolate chips and in another occasion with blueberries. One tip: whatever you use, cover them with flour first (just enough to coat them and shake the excess) This will prevent the fruit (or choco chips) to sink in the bottom of the cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maru *Ü*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These muffins turned out great! I made only one change - I used a 6 ounce container of fat free vanilla yogurt instead of the oil. They are delicious, moist, and full of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great recipe! So easy and with great results. I made these while camping and I didn't have applesauce with me so I shredded an apple to use instead. It worked/tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These are great! I doubled the recipe for 2 dozen and it made even more than that. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using white whole wheat flour (its what I had). It probably made them a bit lighter than using regular whole wheat flour. On our way to share them at a playdate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made as is, except for adding a t. of vanilla. I used frozen wild blueberries - excellent recipe. Moist, flavorful, and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My first muffins. The recipe was so easy. They turned out great. Thanks because I feel really good right know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hikaru

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States