Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I've never tried a recipe that had no reviews written yet, but these looked good, so I thought I'd take a chance. So glad I did, because these are excellent!!! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out very well. I love that these taste like muffins and not cake. I got 18 muffins, not 12. If I had filled the muffin cups fuller, I could have gotten the 12 as stated in the recipe. But it would have been nearly to the very top of the tin, and I didn't think you should fill them that much. Next time I make them (maybe tomorrow) I will see what happens when I put all the batter in 12 muffin cups. Usually I try to make a recipe healthier, but this one is great as is!! (And I do love sweets, so this isn't coming from someone who only eats "healthy" food). My 3 year old also loves them. Thanks Rebecca, for sharing your recipe! Oh, and as a side note I grind my own whole wheat flour and then put it in the freezer...so it is more fresh than what you can buy at the store. I don't know how much that has to do with how great these turned out. Oh, one more thing! I only had frozen blueberries, so I just added them right from the freezer. They were not fully frozen but that's because my freezer doesn't work very well. :) UPDATE: I made these again this morning and only made 12. The cups look more like 3/4 full, but they rose nicely and turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made three small changes: I used a teaspoon each of baking powder and baking soda, melted butter instead of vegetable oil and I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. My applesauce was homemade. I always bake my muffins at 350 for 20 minutes. Nothing wrong with this recipe's bake time, it's just something I've always done (I bake A LOT of muffins, too!) These muffins turned out so good! Just the right amount of sweetness, perfectly moist, very flavorful. My sons and I really liked the combination of the blueberries and applesauce. Out of 12 muffins, there's two left. My sons ate most of them up this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I had a friend pick sarvisberries for me. So I used them and added almonds. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These are great! I doubled the recipe for 2 dozen and it made even more than that. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using white whole wheat flour (its what I had). It probably made them a bit lighter than using regular whole wheat flour. On our way to share them at a playdate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great recipe! So easy and with great results. I made these while camping and I didn't have applesauce with me so I shredded an apple to use instead. It worked/tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
had to cook them a bit longer and it made more then 12 but they are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My first muffins. The recipe was so easy. They turned out great. Thanks because I feel really good right know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hikaru

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Would these be any good with regular white flour? Would like to know before I try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
What a treat these were! I made a few substitutions but that just goes to show that the recipe is very adaptable. I subbed soy sour cream for the oil, used egg beaters for the whole egg and used vanilla soy milk. My applesauce was homemade. I topped with the Fruit Pie Crumb Topping from this site. These were quite delicious and moist. They came together fast with ingredients I usually have on hand. I got 12 large muffins and plan to make more and freeze for the Hubs and the kids lunches. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States