Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
AWESOME muffins!!! I followed the recipe exactly, my husband and I cannot keep our fingers out of them... thank you for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We love it! I used strawberry applesauce once and peach applesauce another time - both were fantastic. I always use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil when possible for additional nutrition (you have to melt it first). I also use frozen blueberries since we are in Wisconsin and fresh blueberries are hard to come by most of the year; frozen worked out just fine! I mix it up the night before and put the prepared muffin pan in the refrig, then bake them up in the morning. So good to have hot, healthy muffins in the morning (would like to find out how to cut the sugar down to make them totally healthy - ideas?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These are the best ever yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I did a double batch/experiment with this one. I made two batches, one with blueberries and one with raspberries. All I had on hand were frozen, but I think fresh would have been much better (not as much liquid?). I'll have to try it. Also, I only have 2 muffin pans, so I made half of each flavor as regular size, and half as mini-muffins. Some of the mini raspberry ones were a little more difficult to get out of the pan, but not horrible. Both turned out very moist and delicious. I'm trying to make different types of muffins to have on hand for a quick breakfast, and I think this recipe would be great for just that. It seems that it'll be very easy to just alternate different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I followed Sarah Jo's advice & used 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, & replaced the oil w/ butter. I replaced the milk w/ extra apple sauce and added about 1/4 cup chia seeds (great fiber, protein, & Omega-3s!!) I also used frozen wild blueberries. THEY WERE GREAT!! My 5 kids loved them & I highly suggest doubling the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made these but I did some changes that others recomended. I am new at baking and I think I messed up some how!! I did the 1 tsp of Baking soda and Baking powder, I took out the oil and replaced it will apple sauce but still left in the 1/2 cup of apple sauce, I also took out the egg yolk and put in a 1/4 cup of water. Baked at 400 for 20 mins and they were NOT done so cooked for another 6 mins. I let them cool for about 5 mins and we went to eat them and they were stuck to the paper!!! What did I do wrong??? I am sure its because I changed the recipe so much but I really want these to be as healthy as possible! I am a heavy person so is losing weight and need them to be healthy plus for my son as well. Any tips??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooks1172
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved it! Thanks for all the good tips. Used 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/3 cup of non-fat yogurt instead of oil, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda, and 1 cup of blueberry. Rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks1172

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I love this recipe! One would never know that it is whole wheat! Used smashed ripe banana in place of applesauce since I did not have any applesauce on hand. Turned out wonderful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
YUM! Delicious and oh so easy. I added cinnamon and sugar to the top. Served hot with butter from our local creamery and - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
These were wonderful. I made changes only because I didn't have blueberries and I wanted to cut down on fat. This is what I did: I used dried cranberries and some mini chocolate chips in place of blueberries. I used plain yogurt in place of the oil (since there's fat in the chocolate chips). I also subbed some of the flour with wheat germ and flax meal, which I always do in every muffin recipe for extra nutrition. I also added a touch of vanilla and cinnamon for extra flavor. And also an oatmeal crumb topping with 1 T sugar, 1 T butter and cinnamon. OK, so I basically made ENTIRELY different muffins, but I used this recipe as a base to work with. When I get some blueberries, I will most certainly try the recipe as written. However, I think this is a great base for all sorts of fruits/nuts/etc. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States