Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used honey instead of sugar, coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and frozen blueberries instead of fresh, because they hold up in the batter rather than breaking apart. I send my toddler off to daycare with healthier versions of muffins all the time, and these look and smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These muffins were great! I used white whole wheat flour, tsp. baking powder and one tsp. baking soda, and subbed some olive oil and some vanilla yogurt for the oil. The muffins had lots of blueberries, and, when coated in flour before being added, didn't sink to the bottom. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! I substituted the half cup of apple sauce with one large mashed banana and it tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Cooked at 385, used one banana instead of applesauce, and half brown sugar instead of all white. Amazing! Did another batch with frozen mixed fruit I chopped in the food processor, amazing as well. Only four stars since I changed it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Needed a quick recipe for a "last minute" brunch arranged by friends, but was tired of overly heavy holiday fare. This recipe, with modifications suggested by Sarah Jo (1 tsp baking soda plus 1 tsp baking powder, melted butter in place of vegetable oil, and baking at 350 for 20 min) worked perfectly. I also added a dash of cinnamon. The muffins not only tasted fantastic, but were very light. Everyone loved them. The only complaint was that I had not brought more. My new favorite blueberry muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These were really good! I used only half a cup of sugar and another half cup of honey. I omitted the apple sauce and used vanilla yogurt - they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These were seriously delicious. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1 tsp each of baking powder and baking soda. I also used almond milk since it was all I had on hand. The muffins turned out with a very light texture and a bit of a nutty taste, although next time I'll try adding a tsp or two of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. This will be my standard whole wheat muffin base from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliaem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
AWESOME muffins!!! I followed the recipe exactly, my husband and I cannot keep our fingers out of them... thank you for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We love it! I used strawberry applesauce once and peach applesauce another time - both were fantastic. I always use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil when possible for additional nutrition (you have to melt it first). I also use frozen blueberries since we are in Wisconsin and fresh blueberries are hard to come by most of the year; frozen worked out just fine! I mix it up the night before and put the prepared muffin pan in the refrig, then bake them up in the morning. So good to have hot, healthy muffins in the morning (would like to find out how to cut the sugar down to make them totally healthy - ideas?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These are the best ever yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States