Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Needed a quick recipe for a "last minute" brunch arranged by friends, but was tired of overly heavy holiday fare. This recipe, with modifications suggested by Sarah Jo (1 tsp baking soda plus 1 tsp baking powder, melted butter in place of vegetable oil, and baking at 350 for 20 min) worked perfectly. I also added a dash of cinnamon. The muffins not only tasted fantastic, but were very light. Everyone loved them. The only complaint was that I had not brought more. My new favorite blueberry muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These were really good! I used only half a cup of sugar and another half cup of honey. I omitted the apple sauce and used vanilla yogurt - they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These were seriously delicious. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1 tsp each of baking powder and baking soda. I also used almond milk since it was all I had on hand. The muffins turned out with a very light texture and a bit of a nutty taste, although next time I'll try adding a tsp or two of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. This will be my standard whole wheat muffin base from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliaem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
AWESOME muffins!!! I followed the recipe exactly, my husband and I cannot keep our fingers out of them... thank you for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We love it! I used strawberry applesauce once and peach applesauce another time - both were fantastic. I always use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil when possible for additional nutrition (you have to melt it first). I also use frozen blueberries since we are in Wisconsin and fresh blueberries are hard to come by most of the year; frozen worked out just fine! I mix it up the night before and put the prepared muffin pan in the refrig, then bake them up in the morning. So good to have hot, healthy muffins in the morning (would like to find out how to cut the sugar down to make them totally healthy - ideas?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These are the best ever yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I did a double batch/experiment with this one. I made two batches, one with blueberries and one with raspberries. All I had on hand were frozen, but I think fresh would have been much better (not as much liquid?). I'll have to try it. Also, I only have 2 muffin pans, so I made half of each flavor as regular size, and half as mini-muffins. Some of the mini raspberry ones were a little more difficult to get out of the pan, but not horrible. Both turned out very moist and delicious. I'm trying to make different types of muffins to have on hand for a quick breakfast, and I think this recipe would be great for just that. It seems that it'll be very easy to just alternate different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I followed Sarah Jo's advice & used 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, & replaced the oil w/ butter. I replaced the milk w/ extra apple sauce and added about 1/4 cup chia seeds (great fiber, protein, & Omega-3s!!) I also used frozen wild blueberries. THEY WERE GREAT!! My 5 kids loved them & I highly suggest doubling the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made these but I did some changes that others recomended. I am new at baking and I think I messed up some how!! I did the 1 tsp of Baking soda and Baking powder, I took out the oil and replaced it will apple sauce but still left in the 1/2 cup of apple sauce, I also took out the egg yolk and put in a 1/4 cup of water. Baked at 400 for 20 mins and they were NOT done so cooked for another 6 mins. I let them cool for about 5 mins and we went to eat them and they were stuck to the paper!!! What did I do wrong??? I am sure its because I changed the recipe so much but I really want these to be as healthy as possible! I am a heavy person so is losing weight and need them to be healthy plus for my son as well. Any tips??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooks1172
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved it! Thanks for all the good tips. Used 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/3 cup of non-fat yogurt instead of oil, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda, and 1 cup of blueberry. Rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks1172

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States