Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This recipe is an incredible base. It has great flavor, but I found that the batter was far too wet and the muffins ended up being a little mushy. So, I made a few changes to bring this recipe from a 4 as written to a 5. I've made these three time. The first two were to see if the recipe really did need modifications. It did, so this is what I did to the third try: I followed the recipe exactly, but added a cup of old fashioned oats and increased the baking powder to 2 1/4 tsp. I also used plain yogurt instead of oil to cut down on the fat, and that swap was just fine. Note: The recipe is good with oil... I just wanted to make them healthier. Amazing. I wish I'd packed more than one in my lunch bag today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These were awesome, but I , like others, made some changes. I didn't have whole wheat flour so used unbleached white flour. I added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, cut back the sugar to about half a cup (perfect!) and didn't want any oil in them so I smashed one over-ripe banana instead. Again, perfect!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Conover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
These muffins are pretty good considering that they are completely made with whole wheat flour (I used stone ground) and very easy to make with little fat (I used no sugar added applesauce). The top of these were a bit crunchy while the insides were still moist. Not sure if I will make them again, though, wasn't crazy about the aftertaste. If you are sensitive to sugar, you may want to decrease the sweetness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Deeeelicious!! My family loved them. Moist, great blueberry flavour (i added a few more than the recipe callled for). Definitely a muffin I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I enjoyed these! I don't normally like whole wheat snacks since they tend to feel heavy and dull to me, but these muffins are light and fluffy. I think I still prefer white flour, but if I'm planning to make something WW, this is a good recipe to go for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hapax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauraqw
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very moist and tasty! I only used about half a cup of sugar (because I used a crumb topping on them), 1 t of baking soda, 1 t baking powder, and a single serving size cup of blueberry vanilla yogurt instead of oil, the reduce the fat, and I actually didn't have vegetable oil on hand! I also took the advice of other reviewers and coated the blueberries in flour before mixing them in. Can't wait for my boyfriend to get home and try them out too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
So moist and yummy! I added a tsp of vanilla and they were perfect! The recipe makes 30 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These weren't sweet enough. Very blah. I think, next time, I'll brush the tops with some butter and add a sprinkling of sugar crystals to give them a little more of an "ooh!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
made just as instructed except all i had was chunky, sweentened applesauce. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Added 1/2 cup flax meal because I ran out of wheat flour. Served them at my daughters preschool were demolished in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States