Whole Wheat Blueberry Beet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I had high hopes for this recipe, since I'm trying really hard to like beets. Like another reviewer, I wasn't impressed. They are edible, but do NOT disguise the beets well. Instead, they taste earthy and have the consistency of a wet spongecake. I did add extra blueberries, but to no avail. I may suggest adding more sugar to perhaps hide the beets better, but that seems counter intuitive to the idea of a healthy(er) muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe because of the use of the fruit, vegetables, whole grains, etc..... but just did not. There was a really earthly, soil like flavor that came from these muffins that was just not appetizing. (This flavor was much more pronounced when they were warm.) Although they looked appetizing, the texture was too spongy & the spices too mild. I will be tossing these in the trash. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
A wonderful recipe! Thanks! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Renea Franks Hohenstern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very moist. I followed previous advice and subbed 1/2 cup honey for the oil and sugar, and it was perfect. The texture and taste was grand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I just made these (in fact, the last of them are in the oven now) and I am not impressed. I was looking for a way to use some beets I got in my produce box this week and thought this was great. I must admit, I did change the recipe slightly. I used 1 cup applesauce and one pumpkin. The beets still make them taste like dirt. I hope my coworkers don't hate me for bringing these in tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Yum! These were delicious. Modifications of course :) In place of the sugar and the oil, I used around 3/4 cup of honey. For flour I used a mix of hard white wheat, spelt, barley, and brown rice. No blueberries around so I used dry cherries and a little extra water. I've been receiving beets in my weekly CSA package and I'm not particularly a fan. With an even bigger bunch this week I started looking for recipes and glad I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
These muffins are great! They did an excellent job of "hiding the veggies"... I did not notice the beet at all! They were popular with friends. The only modification I made was to use a little less than half of the sugar called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I make these all the time. I've used plain yogurt in place of apple sauce and it made the muffins fluffier but the taste wasn't quite as good. I've also used sugar and sugar alternatives. Either way, the muffins were delicious. They make a great quick morning snack. My super picky husband even came up to me one day to compliment me on the muffins. He had eaten like 6. I was confused because he doesn't like beets. I guess he thought they were just blueberry muffins. He quit eating them after I told him there were beets in them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very good muffins! I used a 50/50 mix of AP and WW flour and doubled the blueberries. It made 24 regular sized muffins and 20 minis. We couldn't taste the beets at all. Whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Oh wow! Talk about your power food and delicious too!! I replaced a half a cup of the flour with bran and cut the sugar in half and they were scrumptious! A definite make again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States