Whole Wheat Blueberry Beet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Awesome! I did replace the white sugar with ¾ cups of agave nectar. I also had to cut ¼ cup off all wet ingredients to make up for the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I used coconut oil instead of canola, and 1/2 cup of Xylitol and 1/4 tsp stevia powder for the sugar. Substituted 1 1/2 cups of oat bran for the oats and mixed it with the applesauce to absorb some of the moisture. Added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup chopped walnuts and these came out wonderful and look great. Beets are one of the most healthful vegetables because of their high mineral content--even better than carrots. THANK YOU for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I'm reviewing this because it was the inspiration for the way I made these moist, delicious muffins! I used 1 1/4 cup sorghum flour and 1 1/4 cup rye flour instead of the wheat flour, I added an extra cup of oatmeal, omitted the soda and salt, and changed the sugar to honey. Next time, I will cut amount of honey to 1/2 cup because they were very sweet! I loved having beets in these muffins, that is a fantastic idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Sssshhhh.... I didn't tell my family about the beets and they LOVED these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
These were delicious and the beets were well disguised (as I have kiddos who "don't like" beets yet scarfed these muffins down)! I did have to make some changes. I used King Arthur Gluten Free Flour mix (the best tasting GF in my opinion ) , 2 tsp Xanthum Gum, 2 1/2 TBS King Arthur Gluten Free Cake Enhanser (increases shelf life & makes things lighter/moister) and Ener G brand Egg Replacer. I also used 1 cup Agave light colored sweetener and reduced the water by 1/4 cup per others' comments. The results were very moist and the color was just "fun" for my boys to make! I have some extra shredded beats in my freezer and will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Flavourful and moist - absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I don't care for beets much, but found some in my cropshare box, so thought I try something sweet with them. These muffins were fairly good for health muffins. I could taste the beet flavor in them, but I think the beets I used were very "earthy" to begin with. The blueberries were a must for sweetness, I also added more cinnamon and used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all-purpose for a more tender crumb. I used palm oil also. I think if you put a bit more berries or some nuts in it, it would be even better. I just don't care for the beet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I accidentally put regular bread flour in this, but maybe that was why everyone like so well. anyway I was afraid since I used diced beets that they would not be liked. But everyone ate them well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was looking for a somewhat healthy muffin for my family and happened to have all the ingredients for this one. For texture, I only put in 2 cups of whole wheat flour & substituted 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour. I actually used frozen blueberries, and it turned out just fine. I also used canned beets & shredding was cumbersome. I just threw the canned beets into a quick chopper (it turned out as more of a chunky puree). This turned out just perfectly and gave the entire muffine a nice, red coloring. Love this recipe!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
A fantastic way to get your kids to eat beets! I shy away from using oil and refined sugar in my baking when I can so I used 1/2C of honey instead of the canola oil & white sugar - worked out great! I took them to the daycare my son goes to and all the kids ate (and loved!) them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States