Whole Wheat Blueberry Beet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
BEETS??? I'm thinking, how odd this is. Made this recipe although I thought my kids would never eat this. Muffins just came out of the oven and I have to hide them from my children (made it for school lunches). They LOVE IT !!! I feel like the mother of the year, baking muffins so healthy lol. I always substitute applesauce for oil when baking so I added 3 cups of applesauce. Fantastic!!!! Btw, my children think they are eating blueberry muffins only...no way I'm telling them I added BEETS ...still chuckling about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I can't believe I loved it! This was totally a guilt menu item from realizing I don't eat veggies, but they were SO GOOD! I did cheat by switching in about 1/3 of the flour to white and adding a strusel topping (1 Tbs flour, 4 Tbs sugar, 2 tsp oil), but my husband was amazed at how much he liked them. We played a guessing game on "guess the secret ingredient" and I won. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These were fabulous, and the recipe makes so many! I replaced the sugar with 3/4 cup honey and cut down on the water a bit. I also used coconut oil. Thanks for this healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very moist! I may reduce water next time. I added more blueberries and beets than called for. I could probably reduce the sugar as well. They were pretty sweet. I'll be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
January 9, 2012: Thank you Blue Clements. These were delicious. I have to admit, I was skeptical as I was grating beets and mixing the ingredients. I kept thinking, "this seems too healthy to be good." I didn't have fresh blueberries, so I used defrosted blueberries and saved the juice as part of the 1/2 c of water. I also used whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little lighter. These are so light, fluffy, have a gorgeous golden color and a slightly sweet taste. No one was able to tell that there were shredded raw beets in the batter. These are definitely a hit with the family, including my 23-month old toddlers. Thank you for creating (and sharing) a healthy and delicious blueberry muffin recipe. UPDATE (9 months later): We love these so much that we make them at least once every other month. We ran out of whole wheat pastry flour, we used whole wheat flour and it was still light and delicious. We just made these with vanilla Greek yogurt instead of oil, still very moist. UPDATE December 11, 2012- Almost a year later and still a favorite. We sometimes substitute two very ripe bananas for half the applesauce. We continue to use Vanilla Greek Yogurt instead of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I was trying to find a recipe to tolerate beets that I grew in my garden and saw this almost as a joke for my husband. He likes beets, I can't stand them but the recipe is actually really good. My only thing I might do differently is either drizzle some honey over the top or use half whole wheat and half spelt or white flour so it's not quite so harsh with the whole wheat. Pretty amazing for someone who really has hated beets all their life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
A fantastic way to get your kids to eat beets! I shy away from using oil and refined sugar in my baking when I can so I used 1/2C of honey instead of the canola oil & white sugar - worked out great! I took them to the daycare my son goes to and all the kids ate (and loved!) them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was looking for a somewhat healthy muffin for my family and happened to have all the ingredients for this one. For texture, I only put in 2 cups of whole wheat flour & substituted 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour. I actually used frozen blueberries, and it turned out just fine. I also used canned beets & shredding was cumbersome. I just threw the canned beets into a quick chopper (it turned out as more of a chunky puree). This turned out just perfectly and gave the entire muffine a nice, red coloring. Love this recipe!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I accidentally put regular bread flour in this, but maybe that was why everyone like so well. anyway I was afraid since I used diced beets that they would not be liked. But everyone ate them well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I don't care for beets much, but found some in my cropshare box, so thought I try something sweet with them. These muffins were fairly good for health muffins. I could taste the beet flavor in them, but I think the beets I used were very "earthy" to begin with. The blueberries were a must for sweetness, I also added more cinnamon and used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all-purpose for a more tender crumb. I used palm oil also. I think if you put a bit more berries or some nuts in it, it would be even better. I just don't care for the beet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States