Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I'm so happy to have found a healthy biscuit recipe! I haven't eaten biscuits in years, but after finding this, I will definitely be eating them a lot more! Deee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe and these ended up terrible - they were like rocks. My husband wouldn't even eat them. I have usually used a recipe with no baking soda and just baking powder, and a lot more of it; I think that's the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I personally liked these, though not my whole family didn't. Some of them said that they were a bit to dry and tasted very floury. My family LOVES the taste of whole wheat and I always make everything with WW flour, but this was a bit to much. I did all whole wheat flour and I do not suggest that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exact and found the flavor to be good, but the texture to be a bit grainy and crumbly instead of light and flakey...I think due to the whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I loved this recipe. The biscuits were soft, fluffy and moist. I too decreased the sugar, using only 1 tsp. I added vinegar to the milk to make "buttermilk" and also substituted canola oil for the butter to make them healthier for me. I also baked them at 400 degrees. Probably the best homemade biscuit I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe a half a dozen times and its wonderful! They remind me so much of my nana's biscuits that they will be a staple now. I've found, like others, that I'm using much more buttermilk than the recipe called for to get it all mixed but once it is it rolls out and cuts easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made these biscuits to top the chicken and biscuit casserole recipe from this web site. The other recipe calls for a mix but I wanted something healthier. It was a perfect recipe. I doubled it and added dried rosemary and basil to the dough to match the flavours of the casserole. They were light, sweet and savoury with the addition of the herbs! I will use this recipe any time I need biscuits. I'm sure you can jazz them up with whatever spices you like or make the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
i think 1/4 cup butter milk is too much, the mixture turns out to be too wet, i would increase the amouunt of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I enjoyed these allot! I agree with other reviewers, use less sugar, and a little more buttermilk. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I found the biscuits plenty moist enough. Maybe some cooks did not roll them thick enough? The recipe says to make the dough 1" thick before cutting. That's ~2-1/2 cm. for you metric folk. Also they should be checked after 18 min. rather than waiting the maximum 20. Of course oven temp. accuracy is important, too. Anyhow, cooked as per directions, they have just the right texture. If you are using salted butter or margarine instead of sweet, omit the salt. When I am out of buttermilk, I make a substitute by using 2 tsp. rice vinegar in the quarter cup before filling the rest w/ regular milk. The acid in buttermilk or vinegar is necessary to make the baking soda work. I also used only half the sugar and mixed it w/ the buttermilk instead of the dry ingredients to make it blend in better. A tsp. or 2 of dried dill in the dry ingredients is nice once in a while. Interesting that biscuit recipes are almost identical to most scone recipes except for the shape they are cut into. One time I shaped this recipe the way I do scones--first shaping the dough into a thick log, then flattening it into a 3/4" thick rectangle, and scoring the rectangle into smaller rectangles which I then score on the diagonal into triangles. The scored dough is not separated before baking. This small recipe made 2 smaller rectangles--4 triangular "scones", and can be baked in a toaster oven if you keep a piece of foil loosely on top for 2/3 of the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States