Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Easy and delicious.. good base recipe. Would be easy to tweak this with a variety of spices and mix -ins to suit a main dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I always loved beer bread and haven't had it for years. I followed the recipe, watched the time carefully and used fresh ingredients (incl. bottled Budweiser). Altho' moist to the touch the bread seems dry in the mouth, difficult to swallow and doesn't have the rich beer flavor I recall from the white version of the past. I'm SO disappointed and don't know why it's so lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Wonderful! Moist! Flavorful! Used Bass. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I used white sugar instead of brown, and added half a cup of flax seed meal and it turned out well. I thought that there was a little too much baking powder in the recipe (I detected a bit of that bitter baking soda flavor in every bite), but no one else who ate it thought so. Regardless, the next one I'm making has 3 teaspoons of baking soda instead of 4.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made with Shiner beer and it was awesome!! Tasted just like the bread from a steakhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The texture of the bread was great!! I baked in it a cast iron skillet so it would bake faster (didn't allow enough time for the 50-60 minutes). I do agree with several other reviews that the recipe "as is" is too salty. But, I made it with hard cider, and the mild apple flavor came through in the bread! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I love this bread and have made it several times. The only change I have made is using only half of the brown sugar and adding in some honey to sweeten it as well. I always receive plenty of compliments when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is great - quick, easy, and tasty. We always have it with chili. It also makes great toast! My 3yo and 1yo like to eat it, too. I've had the best luck using a JW Dundee's Honey Brown Lager, but try it with different types of beer! I usually do a little less brown sugar than it calls for, but that is just our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love this recipe! It is so easy, and so delicious! I usually use all whole wheat flour, and it is always fluffy and tasty. Make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My mom used to make beer bread from a box. This recipe was just as easy and tastes amazing too. Tastefully Simple better watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States