Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I do a fair amount of baking and followed this one just as written. I used Newcastle beer. It came out hard, heavy, and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Try all white whole wheat flour, worked like a charm. Has anyone tried it in a bread machine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Fantastic! Made it exactly as written using a local Oktoberfest beer. Fabulous taste and texture. We used it as a side for soup and toasted it in the morning for breakfast. Smells wonderful while baking. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I did not realize that whole wheat flour could spoil. I did notice a funny smell when I measured it, but kept going with this recipe. The resulting bread was so bitter it was inedible. So, word to the wise, check the whole wheat flour before using : if it has a stale, faintly sour smell, toss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
You could taste the baking powder. Next time I make this, I'll use a teaspoon or two instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this exactly as written. I don't know what went wrong but it came out tasteless and hard as a rock. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Rikkor
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Incredibly easy and good. I doubled and made as a loaf and in an 8" round pan. Like so many. I reduced the salt to 1 tsp., the baking powder to 3 tsp., added 1 cup of shredded cheese, and 1 tbl. of honey. I'm sure if you made it as written, it would be great as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Such an easy a quick recipe! The results are delicious! I did use melted butter to spread on top before baking. This is a definitely a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Knight
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I use this recipe exclusively, but change the flavor by using oat flour or buckwheat flour. All work equally well and all are equally tasty. Of course, the flavor is also changed by using different kinds of beer or ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States