Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Following other suggestions and throwing in some of my own - I replaced the oil with 1/3 heaping cup of applesauce, for sweetner used 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 1/4 cup mashed bananas, 1/4 cup nuts and 1/4 cup raisins and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Moist, low-fat, delicious way to use up those ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I loved this rich and healthy banana bread. I used a little more banana and replaced the oil with applesauce, making it a little more healthy. The catch was I had to bake it about 5-10 minutes longer, but it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I really liked the taste and texture of this bread. I substitued unsweetened applesauce for the oil and used egg whites instead of whole eggs and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Loved this. I'm usually not thrilled with the results when baking with honey but this is wonderful. I used a very finely ground whole wheat flour so the bread is a light texture. Whole wheat flour has a much shorter shelf life than white, so if it has been sitting in your cupboard for a long time it's best to buy a new bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This bread is fabulous - healthy and moist and just really, really yummy. I add some cinnamon and nutmeg to mine, for a little extra flavor, and sometimes as many as 2 cups of bananas - which makes it even moister and more flavorful. I discovered this recipe a week ago and I'm making it today for the third time - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Very good. I used applesauce-country berry/no sugar added, instead of oil & put it in a 12 muffin pan for 12-15 minutes and it was great. I also added 1/4 cup carrots. Gotta get it in for the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Capozzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hanover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I was looking for a healthier banana bread recipe, and I have definitely found it! I replaced the oil with applesauce and it came out sooooooo moist and yummy! I'll be making this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I found this loaf a bit bland and would have prefered it to be a little bit more moist. Next time I will add some spices and perhaps a bit more oil or an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Great recipe! I have made it several times and have even added a little applesauce to make up for lack of banana! I also use pecans instead of walnuts and add 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice to give it added flavor.Watch the bread, it does cook faster. Generally around 50 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
The whole wheat flour and optional oil makes this a healthier version of a favorite in our house. I found it easy to make, moist and delicious. The only problem is that I have to make it so often - it disappears too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States