Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this recipe. I substituted 1/4c Agave and 1/4c of Coconut Crystals (with water added to make up for liquid) and I used half coconut oil and half apple sauce instead of the oil. It was very tasty and made with all natural healthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Great recipe! Like other reviewers, I replaced the oil with applesauce and increased the amount of bananas to 1 1/2c. to make it more moist. Got rave reviews from coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used half honey and half brown sugar. It would've tasted sweeter with all honey, but I didn't want to waste honey on a recipe I wasn't sure I'd like. It turns out we did like it! It IS nice and moist. Some of the pictures show a dry bread, but those are overbaked loaves. I made 12 muffins, 18 minutes @ 350 degrees. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is a fabulous banana bread recipe. I like that it doesn't call for too much sweetener. I used brown sugar instead of honey and omitted the nuts (I was out of both), but I'm sure it would be fabulous that way. I took the advice of others and used 3 bananas and added cinnamon. I made them into muffins so they'd cook faster. Spot on - this was very good. (I know I made a lot of adjustments, but I'd bet the recipe would be great without them too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Yum!! I for some reason have issues making banana bread that doesn't collapse after taking it out of the oven, and this one successfully stayed risen for me. My boyfriend and I have been trying to avoid processed sugar, so having honey as the sweetener was perfect! I (like others ) added unsweetened appleasuce instead of oil, didn't even bother with mixing the baking soda in water, just straight up added 3 bananas (as opposed to 1 cup), and added an extra 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour. And because it just couldn't be avoided, added mini choc. chips :) great healthy option for banana bread. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I very much like the taste of this bread, I am just not sure if I did something incorrectly because even after 60 minutes it was really saucy and unbaked at the top. So I turned up the heat a little and put it back in. Great then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Awesome bread. Made with 1/4 oil and 1/4 unsweetened applesauce. I added some cinnamon and a pinch or two of sugar for the top. So so so delicious. My toddler, one year old and husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very moist and tasty. My changes: 1) substituted 2% plain Greek Yogurt for the oil. 2) I used about 1/4 of the nuts as a topping: I combined the, with cinnamon and light brown sugar. 3) Made in cupcake pans. Made15 cupcakes. Baked at 300 degrees for about 25". Used paper cupcake liners. They stuck a bit more than a typical cupcake. Perhaps I'll try a bit of Pam next time. 4) Used about 1 1/4 cups VERY ripe bananas (4 small bananas). 5) Used pecans Definite repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
EXCELLENT!!!!! I substituted agave for honey and it worked great!!! I might do 1/4 agave next time because it was quite sweet (no problem for me but I better if the kids have less sweets). It was moist, nutty and it looked amazing! fool proof! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Oh my! I can not stop eating this fabulous bread! It's so addicting. Like the others that have made this receipe I swapped the oil and replaced it with applesauce. For a really treat smear slices with peanut butter or nutella. So yummy! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States