Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Following other suggestions and throwing in some of my own - I replaced the oil with 1/3 heaping cup of applesauce, for sweetner used 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 1/4 cup mashed bananas, 1/4 cup nuts and 1/4 cup raisins and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Moist, low-fat, delicious way to use up those ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I loved this rich and healthy banana bread. I used a little more banana and replaced the oil with applesauce, making it a little more healthy. The catch was I had to bake it about 5-10 minutes longer, but it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I really liked the taste and texture of this bread. I substitued unsweetened applesauce for the oil and used egg whites instead of whole eggs and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Loved this. I'm usually not thrilled with the results when baking with honey but this is wonderful. I used a very finely ground whole wheat flour so the bread is a light texture. Whole wheat flour has a much shorter shelf life than white, so if it has been sitting in your cupboard for a long time it's best to buy a new bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This bread is fabulous - healthy and moist and just really, really yummy. I add some cinnamon and nutmeg to mine, for a little extra flavor, and sometimes as many as 2 cups of bananas - which makes it even moister and more flavorful. I discovered this recipe a week ago and I'm making it today for the third time - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Very good. I used applesauce-country berry/no sugar added, instead of oil & put it in a 12 muffin pan for 12-15 minutes and it was great. I also added 1/4 cup carrots. Gotta get it in for the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hanover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I was looking for a healthier banana bread recipe, and I have definitely found it! I replaced the oil with applesauce and it came out sooooooo moist and yummy! I'll be making this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I found this loaf a bit bland and would have prefered it to be a little bit more moist. Next time I will add some spices and perhaps a bit more oil or an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Great recipe! I have made it several times and have even added a little applesauce to make up for lack of banana! I also use pecans instead of walnuts and add 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice to give it added flavor.Watch the bread, it does cook faster. Generally around 50 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
The whole wheat flour and optional oil makes this a healthier version of a favorite in our house. I found it easy to make, moist and delicious. The only problem is that I have to make it so often - it disappears too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States