Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Stellar!! But here's some tweaks to an otherwise moderately healthy/delicious quickbread: -- Use 3 eggs & 1+ banana for a more moist bread; -- 1.5 tsp vanilla & .5 tsp nutmeg for more flavor; -- Bake for 45 min & check if a knife comes out clean (mine were done before 55 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Absolutely wonderful the way it is. My husband is on a diet, no sugar or white flour, so he can have these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This banana bread recipe is wonderful. I added a touch of cinnamon, brown sugar, and nutmeg to the batter. Also, I made a topping of brown sugar, walnuts, and cinnamon for the top of the bread. It gave it a nice crunchy topping. I made 2 in one weekend it was so good. One for home, and one for my office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Replaced oil with unsweetened apple sauce. Added cinnamon and nutmeg. Came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very good and moist banana bread. I made it without the walnuts since I didn't have any on hand and I was also a 1/4 cup short of honey so I substituted the remaining 1/4 cup with agave nectar. It turned out great! Not only is it healthier due to being made with whole wheat flour and no white sugar, but it is also more filling. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Awesome! Best whole wheat no sugar banana bread ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was famous among my friends and family for my great banana nut bread, but this one takes the cake! I've replaced my 35 year favorite with this one, with a few tweaks, of course. I used Agave syrup instead of honey, as it metabolizes differently, 1 c mashed banana & 1/2 c pumpkin, then added 1 tbsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp allspice and that's it! Absolutely the best. I made another batch with just banana (1-1/2 c) in two 8x8 square pans and added chopped chocolate chips. This gave me fantastic bars that I could cut to any size. Cooking time was 40 minutes, but be careful if you don't have an oven thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
A wonderful and healthy recipe! I used greek yogurt instead of oil (it's a great substitute, like using applesauce), and I used half honey and half brown sugar. This was very healthy and quite yummy (and the yogurt adds extra protein!). I left out the nuts, and then way I have the option of adding extra honey, walnuts, chocolate chips, etc on top of a slice if I'm in the mood, or I can keep it healthy and plain for a quick breakfast. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Always have too many bananas and can never turn down buying a big bag of overripe bananas for a buck in the clearance section of one local market. Generally avoid anything whole wheat but figured this would be a good way to sneak it in, also been trying to incorportate coconute fat into our diet and this was a way to accomplish bott, pluse we have a glut of honey as the result of my partner's Extreme Couponing hobby. I made a double batch last night and it was so good that I made two more loaves this morning to freeze. Next time I'm gonna add some flax meal and whey or protein powder for nutritional punch, increase the water a but as flax meal can be pretty absorbant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I change this up a bit by using 2 teaspoons of vanilla, four small bananas and chopped and whole pecans...moist,moist, moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States