Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Yum!! I for some reason have issues making banana bread that doesn't collapse after taking it out of the oven, and this one successfully stayed risen for me. My boyfriend and I have been trying to avoid processed sugar, so having honey as the sweetener was perfect! I (like others ) added unsweetened appleasuce instead of oil, didn't even bother with mixing the baking soda in water, just straight up added 3 bananas (as opposed to 1 cup), and added an extra 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour. And because it just couldn't be avoided, added mini choc. chips :) great healthy option for banana bread. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I very much like the taste of this bread, I am just not sure if I did something incorrectly because even after 60 minutes it was really saucy and unbaked at the top. So I turned up the heat a little and put it back in. Great then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Awesome bread. Made with 1/4 oil and 1/4 unsweetened applesauce. I added some cinnamon and a pinch or two of sugar for the top. So so so delicious. My toddler, one year old and husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very moist and tasty. My changes: 1) substituted 2% plain Greek Yogurt for the oil. 2) I used about 1/4 of the nuts as a topping: I combined the, with cinnamon and light brown sugar. 3) Made in cupcake pans. Made15 cupcakes. Baked at 300 degrees for about 25". Used paper cupcake liners. They stuck a bit more than a typical cupcake. Perhaps I'll try a bit of Pam next time. 4) Used about 1 1/4 cups VERY ripe bananas (4 small bananas). 5) Used pecans Definite repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
EXCELLENT!!!!! I substituted agave for honey and it worked great!!! I might do 1/4 agave next time because it was quite sweet (no problem for me but I better if the kids have less sweets). It was moist, nutty and it looked amazing! fool proof! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Oh my! I can not stop eating this fabulous bread! It's so addicting. Like the others that have made this receipe I swapped the oil and replaced it with applesauce. For a really treat smear slices with peanut butter or nutella. So yummy! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very nice! Used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. Can use 1 1/4 cups banana (or 1 cup + 1 sliced banana)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Been in search of a whole wheat no refined sugar recipe that actually tasted good...my search is over. I only changed out the oil to fit my eating plan. Used coconut oil, added a tsp cinnamon, used 3 very ripe bananas, and used white whole wheat flour. Very good and plan to make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made this for my father who is now watching his sugar intake, Dr's orders. Its great, cant even tell that there is no sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
All I can say is... I should have made a double batch! I was looking for a healthier banana bread (aka: natural sweeteners instead of sugar, and whole wheat) and this was a great find. I made it as muffins instead of a loaf so it's easy for the kiddos. The only changes I made (aside from addition of spices) was out of necessity- I was low on some ingredients. I used 3 large bananas, grapeseed oil (wanted to use coconut but did not have enough) and half raw honey/half maple syrup (amounted to 1/3c instead of 1/2- hence the extra banana for sweetness). I also added cinnamon and nutmeg, and a dash of allspice and clove. Awesome! And thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States