Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Made this as muffins. They were delicious but have to give only four stars because I made some substitutions and don't think they would be quite so delicious without the alterations. I used 1/3 of a cup of coconut oil. ( I love baking with this oil best light and fluffy muffins because it's not as heavy as most oils) I also used an extra 1/2 cup of bananas. As well as a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice added flavor but wasnt too spiced. I then baked these for 12-15 min in a muffin pan lightly greased with nonstick cooking spray. Amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Parham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimmers86
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I doubled this recipe and it made two loaves perfectly. I used applesauce instead of oil and I used the amount of banana listed (put through blender) and then cut up an extra banana to have some chunks in it. It is very good, the only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is it is a little bland. I think adding even more banana would solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmers86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I was looking for a healthy alternative to my mom's wonderfully decedent banana bread recipe (that's totally not healthy) and I think I've found it. I have made it 3 times so far. The first time I made it exactly as the recipe indicated, then I experimented after that. I added 2 packets of maple brown sugar instant oatmeal and about a tablespoon of cinnamon to the batter and replaced the oil with applesauce. The oatmeal added a great texture to the bread, although it makes it more dense. My husband gobbles it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have tried the recipe and it turned out great! I replaced the walnuts with dried blueberries and some sunflower seeds. The bread is moist and yummy! I am wondering if I could replace eggs with other ingredient? I have friends who are vegan and allergy to eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is amazing delicious! I subbed unsweetened applesauce for the oil, skipped the nuts but added some chocolate chips. OH MY GOODNESS! So yummy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This turned out great, I love that it uses honey and applesauce instead of white sugar and oil! Didn't miss it at all, even my hubby and father in law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really love this recipe. Very few ingredients, easy and moist and sweet. Like old fashion banana bread minus the fat and calories. I don't think my family will be able to tell the difference. I'll try it next time with the applesauce substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made this last week and I accidentally used only 1/4 cup of honey and not enough banana and it was great. Made today and did the half cup of honey, added some cinnamon, and used three bananas instead of the two I used last time and it's more moist looking. Will try it tomorrow and see how it goes but it looks and smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Turkstra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Tried this again today for the second time this week! I add 1/2 cup of wheat germ, 1/2 cup flax seed and add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I also add 2/3 cup of applesauce. My kids love it. Healthy but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I think this is really good - and have made it a few times. I make muffins out of it, and instead of walnuts substituted 1 cup of chocolate chips and bake for about 18 minutes. The muffins aren't real sweet and the semi-sweet chocolate chips really give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States