Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I tried this with applesauce instead of oil based on the other review and it came out good.Will try again and improvise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
used greek yoghurt (fat free) instead of oil and added a little bit less flour and a half cup of raw muesil(granola). Turned out really well and it is healthy which is a huge benefit when trying to feed it to diet conscious people. Plus it was really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe twice, once as a loaf and tonight as muffins. I baked the muffins about 23 minutes, and that was maybe a minute too long. Tonight I used maple syrup in place of the honey because I have heard that heating honey to a baking temperature does something to it that releases toxins. The first time I used half maple syrup and half natural sugar. I prefer the mix rather than just syrup. I only had 1/4 cup of walnuts, so that's what I used. I cut the oil to 1/4 cup of coconut oil. The taste was great. Next time I'll try it with raisins, and if I skimp on the oil again, I'll add more banana or a bit of applesauce to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I substituted the applesauce for the oil and added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also used 4 bananas and it turned out AMAZING! I will definitely save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I Loved this recipe. I was out of honey so i sub. with 1/2 cup brown sugar. I cant stop making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great Recipe but I have found that cooking is to long specialy in a pinch so I use 9 inch cake pan and cut the time in half. You still have to check with a tooth pick if done....I took the water away and added half cup of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Wow! My kids gobbled this up... they had no idea that it was actually a healthy treat! I substituted 1/2 of the oil with ground flax (substitute 1 part oil with 3 parts ground flax)... so instead of 1/3 cup oil, I used 1/6 cup oil and 1/2 cup ground flax seed. It rose nicely and was very moist. I cut a slice and either toast it or heat in microwave then top with a little butter spray and some light cream cheese... very tasty! Thank you! This is a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is really good. I've always used my grandmother's lard based recipe. Very nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
yummy..............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Added some extra banana, which made it very moist, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Not as good as my non-healthy recipe, but still a yummy, healthier snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States