Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is our new favorite banana bread. I took the advise and replaced the oil with applesauce. The bread turned out very moist. I made two loaves - one with raisins (for my husband) and one with dark chocolate chips for the rest of the family! Very healthy and so very, very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious! I replaced the oil with applesauce, the nuts with chocolate chips and I used organic honey. I put the batter in mini muffin tins. Perfectly bite sized!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Made several changes according to other commenters. Used 3/4 c unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. Used blend of brown sugar and white sugar in place of honey because of cost. Used a little more banana. Biggest change was I used some nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon because a lot of people said it was bland. I also added about 1/2 c coconut just to make it with more texture since I didn't have any nuts. nuts. I baked mini loafs at 325 for about 25-30 minutes. Loved this with the changes and will use this as my standard recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jr911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It was very bland to me. I happened to double the batch, adding cranberries and almond slivers to one batch which made it pleasant to eat. I wish I had added orange juice & zest. Again, just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I've made this several times and love it! Like others, I use unsweetened applesauce to replace the oil. I've found using only 1/3 cup leaves it a little dry, so I've doubled it to 2/3 cups and it's very moist. I've also thrown in 1 cup of coconut when I've had some left over and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe "as is" and used 3 medium sized bananas. I did NOT sub for applesauce because everyone in my family hates it when I do that (they do not like the consistency). This bread is delicious! It is moist, flavorful, and so quick and easy to prepare. Add a few spices to your liking (ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, etc.) and you will have found your favorite healthy banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I tried this with applesauce instead of oil based on the other review and it came out good.Will try again and improvise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
used greek yoghurt (fat free) instead of oil and added a little bit less flour and a half cup of raw muesil(granola). Turned out really well and it is healthy which is a huge benefit when trying to feed it to diet conscious people. Plus it was really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe twice, once as a loaf and tonight as muffins. I baked the muffins about 23 minutes, and that was maybe a minute too long. Tonight I used maple syrup in place of the honey because I have heard that heating honey to a baking temperature does something to it that releases toxins. The first time I used half maple syrup and half natural sugar. I prefer the mix rather than just syrup. I only had 1/4 cup of walnuts, so that's what I used. I cut the oil to 1/4 cup of coconut oil. The taste was great. Next time I'll try it with raisins, and if I skimp on the oil again, I'll add more banana or a bit of applesauce to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I substituted the applesauce for the oil and added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also used 4 bananas and it turned out AMAZING! I will definitely save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States