Whole Wheat Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
not bad at all - I read some of the reviews before making it so I added a whole egg instead of 2 whites and a 1/2 cup of sugar istead of the 1/4 cup of honey - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of honey (none in the pantry = / ) and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the vegetable oil (for healthier AND added apple flavor!) Also, I added one packet of instant oatmeal (to boost protein and texture!). After filling the muffin cups i made a mixture of - 2 TBS butter substitute (melted), - 2 TBS brown sugar, 1/4 cup granola cereal and sprinkled on top to make a sort of crunch topping. The turned out very tasty! A bit denser and less moist than a normal muffin, but c'mon people! It's a VERY healthy recipes, don't expect it to taste like the 800 calorie starbucks muffin! I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This really is a good recipe. I've been using it as a base recipe for muffins. For raisin bran muffins, I substituted half of the flour for bran and switched the apples for raisins. I also put much more cinnamon in there. Another variation I enjoyed was substituting half of the flour for corn meal and using bluberries instead of apples. Omit the cinnamon in this variation. Add some vanila instead. I've been making these muffins vegen by using soy milk and a vegen egg replacer. Works very well. One other thing I found is that the recipe is really small. I like having larger muffins with a nice size head on them. I either double or tripple this recipe. A very good recipe and an excelent place to start creating your own muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe! I like the fact that it has a low sugar content also; the honey gives it a kick! Absolutely delicious. I added raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
These were okay and tasty very virtuous, but I'm not sure if that's what I was looking for in a muffin. They can be made a bit more extravagant by brushing on a bit of honey after baking and topping with granulated sugar, then grilling (broiling?) them for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
nice recipe- used 1 whole egg and used 1/2 cup of white sugar instead of honey and also added blueberries with apple just because I had them handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I like how these muffins are so healthy. I do think they need a little extra sweetness as well. I will try adding raisins next time.. I will make again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Taste ok....I put in a little sugar and they were still needed a little sweetness. I suggest adding at least 1/4 c of sugar along with the honey. My toddler loves them. I will make them for her again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
These were good, but needed more sugar. I drizzled some honey on them when they came out of the oven. Next time I think I may add some white sugar, but that was my only complaint--I'll definately make them again with some more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
The recipe was easy to make and my family enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States