Whole Wheat Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This recipe is very dry and bland as directed. I made a double batch as I have a large family and after the first batch came out I decided to tweak it - my kids will not even touch the first batch after tasting it, but I can't keep them out of the second batch. I added 1/2 c. apple juice to thin the batter some, 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1 tsp vanilla to the second batch and they are lighter, sweeter, and richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These were easy to make AND healthy, too! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
LOVE this!! Used one egg instead of egg whites, added about 1/2 cup more apples and 1/2 cup sugar in place of honey. I also mixed in about 1/4 cup of chopped pecans. YUMMY!!!! Very healthy as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I thought they were a tad dry. Next time I make this I'll add 1/2 c. applesauce and instead of using 1 c. chopped apples I'll use 1/2 c. I also added 1/4 c. brown sugar, and a little bit of ginger and nutmeg. They turned out quite well. Overall I really like this recipe and will use it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
These weregreat muffins! I gave it four stars because we did put that extra 1/4 cup of honey in it. We took them camping with us and they were a very nice treat...and a very nice breakfast, as well, and I felt good about feeding them to my family because of the great ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Eury Berna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I thought that it was dry and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
These were great! I did add 1/4 cup honey, and 1/4 sugar to sweeten them up a little, and I think next time I'll only put in 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. But these moist delicious muffins were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These definitely taste like healthy muffins. I personally would add more sweetener to the batter. A little brown sugar on top definitely helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
this recipe was okay. i used whole milk instead of skim, added some vanilla extract, put a bit more cinnamon, and put in 1/2 cup of sugar instead of honey. also one whole egg instead of two egg whites. the batter was VERY thick, so i added teaspoons of milk. i also sprinkled some brown sugar on top - this always makes muffins better, to me. it came out looking actually kind of strange, but they tasted alright. not oily or too sweet at all. my only complaint is that the bottoms of the muffins turned out very rubbery, so i sliced off the bottoms of every single muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Excellent recipe! I made a few changes: I used 1 1/2 cups of quick oats and 1 cup of flour instead of 2 cups of flour, I used 1/2 cup of apple jelly instead of the 1 cup chopped apple and I threw in 1/4 cup chopped walnuts and 1/4 tsp vanilla extract. It came out really moist and delicious! Also, I didn't have a muffin tin, so I put the mixture in a small pan and made a little cake out of it. Definitely will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States