Whole Wheat Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Great morning treat. I feel that the apples and honey make these just sweet enough. My fiance loved these. We ate them with a Green Smoothie from this site and had energy to burn all day! The only thing I did different was use canola oil instead of regular vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Definitely one of the better healthy muffins out there. I substituted apple sauce in place of the vegetable oil and added rolled oats, cardamon and nutmeg to spice up the lack of sugar. They're a little dry and bland but I'll use this recipe as a base to experiment otherwise. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I thought they were a little dry. I used 2 whole eggs and added some nutmeg, cloves and ginger too. Next time I will try adding some applesauce to see if that will help the dryness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anamosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've made these muffins 4-5 times now and each time they are excellent. I've used a few variations, depending on what I had in my kitchen...thrown in some blueberries, some grated carrot, used white flour, or substituted sugar for honey, and every time they are good. My 15-month old loves them too and never gets tired of them, which is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great recipe, just finished baking the muffins and they turned out great! I did have to subsitute the vegetable oil for butter since that was all i had. I did add a little bit more milk since my batter was too stiff. I doubled the recipe and got good sized muffins, only thing i missed were the walnuts and i grated the apple so that my kids would eat them. They loved them!! Its a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Terrible!!! This was a waste of ingredients. I followed some of the other tips by adding some cinnamon etc but these were just terrible. I'll have to throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This recipe was not very good. The muffins were not sweet, despite the use of honey. If I were to make them again, I would add in sugar, as well as the honey. I rate them 3 stars because, depsite their lack of sweetness, they were still eaten and they seem to be healthy. If one is on a limited diet looking for a recipe they won't mind eating, try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
nice and moist, tho taste a little bland....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahpopple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Ok - the four stars comes after some really big tweaks. Actually, I would consider the result maybe a differant recipe entirely: I did 1 c white flour and 1 c whole wheat, because I just started this week switching my family to whole wheat everything. I used 1 1/4 cup chopped apples, and found that there weren't enough. Next time, I'll do 1 1/2 cups. I quadrupled (maybe tripled) the amount of cinnamon, and also added nutmeg. Added, as reccomended by many, vanilla. Worried about moistness/heaviness, I used 2 eggs (but eggs here in Israel tend to be smaller than US eggs) and a bit more oil (canola) as well. Like I said, maybe an entirely differant recipe but....MY FAMILY LOVED IT!!!! My 18-month old ate two! In one sitting! (which I justified by adding a bit of cream cheese filling...protein? calcium?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I've been trying to drop the last of my baby weight this month and so I've been cooking more healthy snacks and meals. And I have learned that there are lot's of amazing, flavorful recipes that don't involve a lot of fat and sugar. This is NOT one of those recipes. Skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States