Whole Wheat Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Added an extra cup of apples (2 cups), 2 tsp cinnamon, 2 egg substitutes (instead of egg whites). Not a sweet muffin but moist & good for breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Having read reviews I used sugar instead of honey (purely because I had not) added raisins and used whole egg. Also didn't have whole wheat flour so I added half a cup of milled flaxseed instead to boost protein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Steenkiste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Bland. Didn't use whole wheat flour- but very flour-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Healthy!! :) But, needs a little more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessandsam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I thought these were good! This is the first recipe I've made with whole wheat flour that I thought really worked. The first batch I made exactly according to recipe, and I gave 3 stars because they were a little above average to me. I tweaked it the second batch to my liking and obviously liked those better since it was exactly what I wanted, but this is a great recipe to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is a great moist whole wheat muffin. I considered other reviews and used 1 whole egg in place of the egg whites for convenience and also used 1/4 cup of sugar and about 1/8 cup honey. Next time I will add nuts and maybe a bit more honey as well as sub applesauce for some of the oil to get it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe is kind of small, I would recommend doubling it to get normal sized muffins. I also used 1 whole egg instead of 2 egg whites and additionally added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and a tablespoon of white sugar to give it extra sweetness. I also topped the muffins with some sliced almonds I tossed through a mix of 1tbsp butter, 1tbsp brown sugar, 1 tbsp flour and a couple shake of cinnamon. Will be making these again! Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These are awesome! I doubled the recipe and used a cup of gala apple and a cup of granny smith. I also used 1/2 cup Egg Beaters instead of 4 egg whites. Since some of the comments said they weren't sweet enough, I added apple crisp topping on top. Cream 1 stick butter with 1/2 c brown sugar, then mix in 2tsp cinnamon and 2 cups oatmeal. I think the muffins would be fine even without the topping though. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carielf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added 1/4 Splenda in addition to the honey and it still isn't sweet. It's okay for snack if I'm craving carbs and don't want something processed but this won't be in heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States