Whole Wheat and Quinoa Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wonderful dense pancakes! I love the raspberry topping with the yogurt! Cinnamon adds a great touch, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These are very good if you're looking for a healthier alternative to regular pancakes. Or if you are just tired of r regular pancakes and want something more interesting. Mine were thick and perfect pancake texture. The only change I made was using sugar instead of Splenda. I didn't have the topping stuff, so my review is just for the pancakes. Most people will probably put their favorite pancake toppings on them anyway. Though, I do think the berries and yogurt would be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These were delicious and so pretty! I couldn't find quinoa flour but found quinoa 'flakes' so used that. This caused the pancakes to be a bit crispy on the outside so use flour if you can find it. I added chopped walnuts to mine because I love that crunch in my pancakes and also topped them with extra maple syrup for my overactive sweet tooth. Outstanding and so nutritious! All 3 of us wanted seconds and I ran out of batter and berries too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These came out ok, I used cornmeal and baking soda for powder. The result was a very crunchy puffy pancake. I think it was a good recipe and will make it again but I think with all things quinoa/cornmeal it's best if you let it sit for a while before you cook with it. Next time I will have this maybe prepared the night before so it has a chance to really soak up some of the liquids and pick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I just made the pancakes -- not the berry/yogurt topping. I had cut back a little on the cinnamon (2 tsp instead of 1 tbsp) because while I love cinnamon, first thing in the morning it can overwhelm my husband a little. I had added a second egg because we had some pretty small ones (farmer's market eggs don't always equate 1:1 with store-bought) and I was assuming this was supposed to use a large egg, since the size wasn't specified. The cakes were very filling & had a nice flavor & texture. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made a few substitutions since I lacked the ingredients. I ground my own steel cut oats & substituted oat flour for the quinoa flour. I did not have vanilla yogurt & used Apple Pie flavored [ from Aldi's]. I then added a 1/2 cut chopped walnuts. But the basic pancake was surprisingly light & fluffy! Why use a packaged pancake mix when a healthy alternative is easy, tasty & at your fingertips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasha164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made the pancakes and skipped the topping. I followed this recipe exactly and after mixing the ingredients all together, I ended up with something that resembled cookie dough. It seemed way too dry and thick for pancakes. I decided to trust the recipe and put a spoonful on the griddle. No good. I added a half cup of milk and another egg to the remaining mix and it turned out OK. I'll probably cut down on the cinnamon a little next time if I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this using an egg substitute, and used almond and coconut milk instead of cow's milk. Found the batter too thick so I thinned it out a bit. Used less cinnamon. Skipped the fruit and yogurt, but topped with soy margarine and real maple syrup. Added some chopped walnuts, flax meal, and nutritional yeast, too. Also substituted Stevia for the Splenda and cooked in a "green" pan with coconut oil. Found them heavy, but good! My husband, who doesn't care about eating healthy, devoured some too! Will freeze the rest. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States