Whole Wheat and Nuts Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These muffins turned out chewy. I substituted 1/4c agave syrup for sugar and reduced milk accordingly to 3/4c. And it was coconut milk. The flavor is good, slightly sweet. Kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These muffins were good for being entirely fat-free. (I used skim-milk and omitted the nuts) The only complaint I have is that they were a bit chewey, which I assume is from the yogurt. But again, they were very good and next time I think I will add cinnamon, allspice and cloves to make them "spice muffins".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Really good recipe. I also made some substitutions. I used 1.5 cup wheat flour and .5 cup white flour. I also substituted the white sugar for the brown sugar, the walnuts for almonds and the nutmeg for the cinnamon. I also cooked these as mini muffins for 10 minutes which was perfect. It's a great breakfast and will be a great snack later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Love it! I used soy milk, added fresh blueberries cuz I wanted some fruit, 1/8 cup water to make it a bit fluffier, and 1.5 c wheat flour and 1/2 c white flour. I also didn't have nutmeg, so I used cinnamon. So good! Makes a little more than 12 muffins, probably more like 14 or 15. Does taste somewhat wheaty with my variation, but I like it that way on a healthier note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
this were really good, my cousind ate them what is fascinating. I just used brown sugar and added some dried cherries. they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The flavor of these muffins is really good, but I am personally not crazy about the consistency. If you are looking for a fluffier non-dense muffin, these may be for you. I made only a few adjustments - used brown sugar instead of white because that's what I had - used a 1/2 cup of white flour and 1 1/2 cups of wheat. Also added some cinnamon and shredded carrot, and dried cherries in place of the nuts. I would try this recipe again but maybe add some oatmeal or something to make them more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow Angel
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My husband raves about these muffins! (And I do, too!) I can hardly believe how healthy they are, for how good they taste! I did add cinnamon, because it is a favorite spice in this household, but I might try without next time. I think for the texture it is important to go quickly from mixing the wet & dry, right into the oven - the leavening acts quickly, and you want them to be fluffy! I will note - I had enough batter for more than 12 muffins using a bare pan (no liners), but only one pan, so I can't tell exactly how many it could have made. Oh, one more thing (sorry so long!), I really enjoyed splitting a muffin open and putting a bit of peanut butter on it - match that with fruit for a great light meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are really good. I substituted craisins for the nuts but otherwise followed the recipe. They are light and fluffy and very tasty. I loved the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Good muffins. I used pecans instead of walnuts and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. They are tasty warm with a little butter :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These muffins were ok - a little too fluffy for my taste. I added raisins and left out the nutmeg, and they tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aarhus, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States