Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is excellent. I made the dough in the breadmachine and doubled the recipe. I also let one of the crusts rise in a 200 degree oven before baking the crust for about 15 mins at 350. Then I let it cool (wanted to make pizza the next night after getting home from work). I topped it later with pesto, mozzarella cheese, and sliced tomatoes, then baked at 425 for 15 minutes. It turned out perfectly. I'm making a breakfast pizza with the other crust today. I also prebaked that crust, but didn't let it rise, and it will be a bit of a thin crust. It looks like if you let your crust rise you can get a thick crust without having to double the recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
used flax seeds instead of wheat germ. Cooked 17 mins and then added toppings and cooked for another 20 minutes. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very yummy. I have a large pizza stone and the dough was a perfect fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Made this tonight. Didn't have any wheat germ. My crust came out very tasty... but HARD AS A ROCK! I grind my own wheat... maybe this is the reason it was so tough. I'll try it again with a little more water & honey, or a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This crust was great! However, the author forget to list putting honey in with the water and yeast in the directions. As others have stated, when the mixture is combined knead it about 10 times to make a smooth ball before covering it to let it rise. Also, it is much easier to work with if you let it rise at least 20-25 minutes. It is quite sticky but if you put some AP flour on your work surface and on top of the dough and roll it out it will not shrink on you. I also parbaked the crust at 450F on a pizza stone for 7 min, topped, and then cooked another 7-10 minutes until the edges were golden brown. This will definately become a staple in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this tonight and really enjoyed it! I've been looking for a healthy recipe and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I didn't have wheat germ so I substituted Flax seed. This was absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made everything according to this recipe, but I couldn't roll out a dough.. it was stretchy and sticky... so sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This crust was delicious. I didn't use wheat germ because I didn't have any but it didn't taste like anything was missing. This will replace the recipe I've been using for the past 9 years! The only thing I will do different is next time I will spray my pizza pan before I put the dough down. I'll also knead it for a minute or two with some additional flour. (no more than 1/2 cup) Nothing that will change the taste of the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This recipe is perfect for someone who is looking for a healthy alternative to a white dough for pizza. I was nervous at first because I didn't think it was rising enough but after I put the dough in the oven (about 5 mins before adding the sauce and toppings) it was rising quite a bit. I poked wholes into the dough and I also cooked the pizza at about 460. I will definitely make this recipe again and again! Super easy and quick! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THIMOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States