Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I found the crust to be too thick and dry for my taste. It was edible, but not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I loved this recipe. I didn't have wheat germ for I substituted whole ground flaxseed meal. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and made a large pizza big enough to feed me and my boyfriend and have two slices left over. We each ate two slices that day. I love making recipes that are healthy and this is one of them whereas my boyfriend is still stuck on loving white bread. Based on the reviews I thought this would be a hit for the two of us (because I am slowly introducing whole wheat into his diet) and he hated the crust. And I have to admit, it wasn't the tastiest crust. I would make it again for health reasons but otherwise, I am sure there is something that can be altered to make it better. Maybe the wheat germ was too coarse and added too much texture? Maybe I should hae replaced it with whole wheat flour instead or ground flax? I am not sure. I would like to try this again but I need to see what can be changed here. It just seemed bland. Not a crust that would be tasty to eat without topping. I'm glad others had success with it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
We LOVE this pizza dough. I was worried, since I've had some whole wheat pizza doughs that weren't that great before, but it was awesome. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was pretty good though and I will make it again but with some changes. It lacked the honey flavor so i might add a bit more next time. Also, when I tested it raw, there seemed to be too much salt but i didn't notice it once it was cooked. I would either half that next time or sprinkle in a just bit. I realize that might help bring out the honey/ sweet taste. I also wouldn't do a thick crust with this. It was rather dry but the thin crusts came out really nice. I made 4 personal pizzas from this and it was fun. My kids helped roll and top. I also let it rise covered for an hour. You would expect lower rating but it was a healthy crust, it was easy, and everyone else seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I add italian seasoning for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Changed the recipe a tad after reading others' reviews. Followed recipe as stated, though I used a generous tablespoon of honey, maybe almost 2T? Also noticed it took more than just a couple minutes for the dough to rise, even when I put it in the oven's warming drawer. Also used about 2/3 of the pizza dough. If I had used all of it, it would have been way too thick. Lastly, it took 18 minutes to cook (with pizza toppings on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I love this recipe exactly as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Might be operator error but I was not a fan. I made 2 batches for a girl's night and while everyone said they liked it no one wanted to take leftovers home. I found it to be too chewy and not crispy enough for my own taste. I actually wound up scraping the ingredients off the pizza. I had such high hopes, might try it one more time and use the bread maker or mixer with dough hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States