Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
let rise for longer. after prebaking, add toppings and bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I didn't like the flavor at all, too strong that you couldn't taste anything else. My husband and I ended up just eating the toppings off the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was super easy but the wheat taste completely overpowered the pizza and was extremely dense. I may try again with wheat pastry flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I would rate this a four but my husband gave it a two so three it was. He and my oldest son ate very little. My one year old loves the extra texture of health food and ate his weight in our broccoli-chicken pizza. I will roll it out thinner next time and prebake for 15 minutes....note that I did say next time, so I plan to keep using this recipe with tweaking. This recipe is not for those used to white flour pasta and dough. It has the extra texture of wheat and is a little bready. I thought it tasted good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Lets face it whole wheat dough will never be as good a white dough, but I must say this is the first I really liked. Trying to eat healthier and I will definatley do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I subbed 1 cup of bread flour (so I didnt need the wheat germ). This turned out good. I baked it for maybe 10 minutes, then topped it, and put it in the fridge until just before my husband came home, then I put it in another 10-15 and it had just enough crunch, while still being slightly chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome recipe. I really really wanted to have a pizza and a healthy one too. So as I was looking for a whole wheat pizza dough recipe I came across this one. Too good to be true. I made it today and hubby was literally licking the plate clean. The only change I made in the recipe was, that I added a about 3-4 tbls of semolina flour to make it a crispy. It turned out absolutely yummy. As others have suggested I pre-baked the crust for about 10 mins at 350 ( I rolled my crust pretty thin. Also After rolling the pizza I let it rest and let it rise a little bit. Topped it with my home made spicy tomato sauce. Sprinkled on some veggies and a little bit of cheese and put it back in the oven for another 15 mins. And oh my god, the crust tasted like heaven. So much better than the one made with all purpose flour. My crust was not soggy, in fact the bottom was pretty crispy. It might be because of the semolina flour. Also I baked it on a baking sheet, covered with foil and oiled with olive oil. Guilt free pizza. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I replaced 1/3 of the whole wheat flour with oats that I ground up in a food processor. Put it in my bread machine on the dough setting. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe. I wanted to try something new, I was a tad short on time, and the recipe I usually use is a bit time consuming, although worth it. I followed the recipe exactly, only I pre-baked mine for 12 minutes at 450 like I always do. I topped it, and baked again for another 15 minutes at 400. When I cut into the pizza, my heart sank. It felt bread-y, with none of the crisp I was hoping for. The flavor was ok, but overall bland. My husband and I still ate it, after all we were hungry and it was our dinner. I use "Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust" from this site every time. It is a bit time consuming, but totally worth it. It has better flavor, and there is a bit of olive oil in the dough that I suspect is one of the things lacking in this recipe. This recipe only make 1 pizza, the one I mentioned before makes 2, with a better crisp and flavor. I will return to my favorite, and just plan my time better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
No one would eat it. I make dough all the time. As an experienced baker, I know bread and dough can be tricky, but I blame the recipe on this account. It was a huge waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States