Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Wonderful recipe. You'd never know it was healthy! I've found that if I heat a glass of water for a minute in the microwave, the microwave becomes a great place (warm and humid) to stash the dough for rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is excellent. As written, allow a little time for the dough to rise initially but then allow it to again for another 5-10 minutes on the pan before you bake it. The result is a nice "pan pizza" like crust - GUILT FREE! I agree wholeheartedly with the recommendations to pre-cook at 350 for 15 minutes or more (depending on thickness) and then add toppings and cook again. My husband kept "oohing" and "ahhing" about the crust. I think the honey really makes it. For those of you who mentioned it was tough - perhaps you kneeded it too much. You want to mix with greased hands just until the ingredients are incorporated. We made individual pizzas which was really fun for the kids (ok - and me and hubby too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnt Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made it in my food processor and added a couple swirls of olive oil to make the dough easier to work with... Then I covered the dough and stashed it in the fridge all day. I took it out of the fridge an hour before I wanted to use it to warm it up. Cut it into 4 pieces and rolled it onto parchment, brushed with a touch of olive oil, and baked on a pizza stone at 450 degrees for 3 minutes or so. Then took it out, put some pesto, cheese, tomatoes, and whatever else. Fresh cracked pepper on top, and back on the stone for 4-5 minutes or until the cheese was melty. I will never make white pizza dough again....this was so incredibly good! Love the honey in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suprbacana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This recipe is quick, easy and tastes great. I tried it because it was cholesterol free. I was in search of a whole wheat pizza dough and this one is great. My family likes it with olive oil, fresh home grown tomatoes, fresh garlic, italian seasoning and mozzarella cheese. I suggest NOT doubling the recipe your first time. This recipe is substancial for a family of 3-4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This recipe is similar to a Betty Crocker whole wheat recipe I have always used except it is even more healthy! I really like that it has wheat germ and honey in it instead of oil and sugar. Prepared the dough in my breadmaker which allows it to rise for an hour, then pressed it into a medium size pizza pan sprayed with canola oil. Let rest for 15 mins and then precooked in 425 oven for 2 minutes before adding all the other toppings. Turned out great, crunchy on the outside and chewy inside!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Yummy! :) I did what STARS4BEA did below, I prebaked it for 17 minutes @ 350, put the toppings on, then baked it again for 20 minutes @ 350, then for an additional 5 minutes @ 400. I floured my pizza stone a little and used a thin spatula to loosen the dough off the stone after the first 17 minutes. It came out DELICIOUS! I had actually kneaded the dough and let it rise longer because I had the time. My only complaint is that it wasn't very crispy on the bottom, but this was my first time using a pizza stone, so I think I'll just have to practice. ;) All in all, the dough was VERY tasty, VERY quick, and a GREAT healthy alternative to regular pizza dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Very good! I used this dough to make two round 12" thin crust pizza's. It was a little softer than we like (we like crisp crust) but such a great flavor and we can adjust to the softness because it is sooo much better for us than jiffy pizza crust! Very easy to make. I did a few things differently. After I let the dough rise for 10 minutes in a warm oven then I kneaded it for a few minutes on a lightly floured surface. I greased the pizza pans and my hands with cooking spray and pressed the dough onto the pans. Very easy! I let the crust rest for 10 minutes then poked holes and baked for 4.5 minutes @ 425 degrees. Added toppings and baked for 11 minutes @ 425 degrees. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Great taste and texture. I added some herbs (italian) to the flour mixture. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
This is a great recipe! It is very easy to make when you use a bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Excellent! This crust is easy to assemble and tastes great. I topped mine with ranch dressing, a variety of fresh vegetables, and two cheeses; but everyone agrees it is good enough to eat alone. I try to avoid white flour, so I was particularly thrilled to discover this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States