Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Even non-whole grain eating hubby liked this one. Used flaxseed meal in place of the wheat germ, as that is what I had on hand, and added Italian spices before placing in the fridge for about 6 hours - probably could have left on the counter instead, as it did not rise then. Put in warm spot about an hour before using. Did not poke with holes and precooked about 10 minutes before adding toppings. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wow - this recipe really is not only easy but delicious! I love that it's healthy (2 pts per serving on WW), also. This is the first rating I've given ever, and I thought this recipe was well worth the 5 stars. My family is asking me to make this every week now, and many of my health conscious friends and family members have asked for the recipe. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I carefully followed the recipe and had trouble with it rising. I too thought the wheat flavor in the crust was overpowering, but there was little other flavor. I prefer a crispier crust, but this one was very chewy. I will keep looking for that perfect 100% whole wheat crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
As written, four stars. Has a lot of potential. My husband says he would give it a three. It was kind of blah and flavorless. I recommend pre-baking for longer than called for, adding LOTS of garlic powder for flavor, adding a touch more honey and a pinch more salt, and mixing in a few swirls of olive oil (and brushing top layer) for crispiness. I will use this recipe again sometimes because it takes significantly less time than my standard recipe, but it could use a little help. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Had a problem getting the dough to rise. But it did have good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was great! We took the tip from another reviewer about letting the dough rise on the pans for a few minutes. It turned out thick and hearty, but soft and chewy all at once. My husband loved it and told me to put it in the regular dinner rotation. :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommymelody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was my first time making pizza from scratch and using whole wheat. I used 2.5 cups of whole wheat flour vs wheat germ, a little extra honey, & a garlic/herb salad dressing seasoning pack to add flavor. It was enough to make a medium/large pizza. I placed it in the oven on warm for 30 min to rise in an airtight container, refrigerated it over night, & used the next day. I also baked it in the oven for 3 min prior to adding my homemade pizza sauce and toppings. The sauce definitely made all the difference regarding the flavor of the bread. I will definitely be using the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIG203

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I found the crust to be too thick and dry for my taste. It was edible, but not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I loved this recipe. I didn't have wheat germ for I substituted whole ground flaxseed meal. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and made a large pizza big enough to feed me and my boyfriend and have two slices left over. We each ate two slices that day. I love making recipes that are healthy and this is one of them whereas my boyfriend is still stuck on loving white bread. Based on the reviews I thought this would be a hit for the two of us (because I am slowly introducing whole wheat into his diet) and he hated the crust. And I have to admit, it wasn't the tastiest crust. I would make it again for health reasons but otherwise, I am sure there is something that can be altered to make it better. Maybe the wheat germ was too coarse and added too much texture? Maybe I should hae replaced it with whole wheat flour instead or ground flax? I am not sure. I would like to try this again but I need to see what can be changed here. It just seemed bland. Not a crust that would be tasty to eat without topping. I'm glad others had success with it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States