Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I didn't have any wheat germ, so I just followed another reviewer's tip to just replace it with an additional half cup of whole wheat flour. It worked really well! One thing I must say is that if you follow the serving size of a 12" pizza it will be on the thicker-crust side, and I had to bake it for about another 10 or 15 minutes. If I had made a 14" or 16" pizza I think it would have been more accurate to the instruction's bake time. Either way, great recipe. I'll definitely make this again! Update: Made this again only I used a 24 inch pizza stone rather than the 12". Perfect! The baking time is accurate to that size and the crust was the perfect thickness. Even the anti-whole-wheat family members went back for seconds... and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipe was great with a couple of modifications. I used ground flax instead of the wheat germ, 2 tablespoons of honey, and 3/4 cup water. For the whole wheat flour I used 1/2 spring wheat and 1/2 hard white wheat, both of were freshly ground from whole grains. I used one teaspoon of instant yeast and let the dough ferment overnight in the refrigerator to activate the phytase enzyme in order to break down phytic acid and release the nutrients of the whole grain. A couple hours before baking, I removed the dough from the frig so it would warm up before I rolled it out. It was a little sticky. So I oiled the rolling pin to roll it out. I used this dough for calzones and it was great. Crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I did 1 c. white and 1 c. wheat flour. Turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was good for our first attempt at homemade wheat dough. It came out a little dry though. Next time I will add a little olive oil, rosemary, garlic and a splash more water. We sprayed it with cooking spray, then pre-baked it at 350 for 12 min (did another at 450 but 350 was much better). We'll definitely make this again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Even non-whole grain eating hubby liked this one. Used flaxseed meal in place of the wheat germ, as that is what I had on hand, and added Italian spices before placing in the fridge for about 6 hours - probably could have left on the counter instead, as it did not rise then. Put in warm spot about an hour before using. Did not poke with holes and precooked about 10 minutes before adding toppings. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wow - this recipe really is not only easy but delicious! I love that it's healthy (2 pts per serving on WW), also. This is the first rating I've given ever, and I thought this recipe was well worth the 5 stars. My family is asking me to make this every week now, and many of my health conscious friends and family members have asked for the recipe. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I carefully followed the recipe and had trouble with it rising. I too thought the wheat flavor in the crust was overpowering, but there was little other flavor. I prefer a crispier crust, but this one was very chewy. I will keep looking for that perfect 100% whole wheat crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
As written, four stars. Has a lot of potential. My husband says he would give it a three. It was kind of blah and flavorless. I recommend pre-baking for longer than called for, adding LOTS of garlic powder for flavor, adding a touch more honey and a pinch more salt, and mixing in a few swirls of olive oil (and brushing top layer) for crispiness. I will use this recipe again sometimes because it takes significantly less time than my standard recipe, but it could use a little help. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Had a problem getting the dough to rise. But it did have good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was great! We took the tip from another reviewer about letting the dough rise on the pans for a few minutes. It turned out thick and hearty, but soft and chewy all at once. My husband loved it and told me to put it in the regular dinner rotation. :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommymelody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States