Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was so good! I was out of wheat germ, so I substituted flax seed. I mixed the dough in my bread maker, prebaked the dough, and brushed the crust with olive oil and sprinkled with parmesan cheese. My kids griped the whole time I was making the crust because it was "healthy". My oldest two ate 4 pieces each! They quickly decided healthy wasn't so bad after all! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is our favorite crust. As others suggested, be sure to pre-bake and loosen from pan prior to adding toppings. Also, will need some white flour near for your hands as the dough is somewhat sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I added flax meal into the mix as well. I need to find out how to make the dough thick and crispy! I love it, as well as my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
For a whole wheat pizza dough, this one definitely got five stars in my book! While it's not my favorite dough, it was very, very good. I was very skeptical that a from-scratch dough that did not require a lot of time to rise could turn out so well, even more so when it's whole wheat! I prebaked it on my pizza stone for 15 minutes, then actually transferred to a baking sheet (I needed to use the stone for a second type of pizza). I brushed the edge with olive oil and sprinkled with parmesan and dried oregano, then baked it with the toppings for 15, maybe 20 minutes at 450 degrees (with the other pizza) I couldn't have been more pleased with the result! The bottom crust was thin, and crispy/chewy, and the edges were a bit bread-like inside, but crisp and flavorful (thanks to the oil and parmesan idea) on the outside. I'm very happy to have this one in my repertoire now! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I used this recipe for homemade pizza on the BBQ. (You just oil one side of the dough, put it right on the BBQ rack, let it puff and brown on the bottom, flip it over and add your toppings and cook until desired crispiness - so tasty!) It turned out great! It's a simple, easy recipe that tastes great - perfect for a quick meal or snack. And it's a lot healthier too!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Easy enough to make with my bread machine. It grilled quite nicely, if not just a tad crispy and thick. All in all, I use this dough whenever I'm doing a healthy pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madsend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Great Recipe! I followed the advice of S Griffin, and baked it for 17 mins @ 350, put on toppings, baked for 15-20 mins @ 350, and then on broil for 5 mins to slightly brown the cheese. I used a regular sized metal pizza pan & substituted flour for wheat germ. The crust came out just the way I like, crispy on the bottom, not at all dry in the middle. I would definitely recommend prebaking the crust before adding toppings. This was the first time I’ve tried this. The top of the crust didn’t come out soggy from all the toppings. Prebaking it first gave the top time to crisp instead of soaking up the juice from the meat and veggies. From now on I will definitely prebake my crust. I’ve tried different pizza crust recipes and this is my favorite. The other recipes I found bland. I can’t quite put my finder on it, but this crust just really added to the enjoyment of the pizza. I think it was the honey. Without a doubt, the best recipe I’ve come across yet. One thing I will do differently next time, I will only use half the dough. My crust came out a little too thick for my liking 1.5cm or 0.6inches for the Americans (I measured). I strongly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by met_atm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
One word - FANTASTIC! I brushed mine with basil oil and added some fresh chopped herbs before baking for 10 minutes at 350, then added the Romesco sauce from this site, topped with goat cheese and lots of fresh basil - A wonderful combination! The perfect dough for endless pizza possibilities. Next time, I'll try grilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I thought this crust was delicious and easy to make! I don't have a pizza stone and just used a cookie sheet and it came out great!! I did take advice from several other reviewers and baked the crust alone for 15 min at 350, then added toppings, then baked again for about... 10-15 minutes until I thought it looked melty enough and that the crust was cooked through (not too doughy). Will absolutely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
double if you don't want a thin crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States