Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Healthy and tasty enough that I'll try it again, but the first time around, I wasn't impressed by the texture. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and had my bread machine mix the dough (on pizza dough cycle)which gave it some extra rise time. Maybe the machine overmixed it ? So next time I'll do it by hand and mix it just lightly. Other changesI made according to other reviews were: add a little olive oil to the dough. Bake at higher temp for shorter time - I used a preheated pizza stone at 425 degrees. Baked 3-4 minutes without topping and then 6-7 with toppings. It was pretty flat and dense. I'll try again but may be on the lookout for a recipe that uses whole wheat but has a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this last weekend. I didn't have any wheat germ, so I used gluten instead. I put everything in my bread-maker and put it on the "dough" setting. It came out beautifully! It was a perfect texture. We used the whole recipe for one large pizza and it fluffed up nicely and made a beautiful "pan style" crust. It tasted even better than pizza dough made with white flour because it had a nice nutty, deep, rich flavor. This is going to be a staple in our house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Wonderful, healthy and SO easy! I add a couple tablespoons of Italian Seasoning to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very quick & easy to make, it's a 4-1/2 star crust which I rounded up to 5 because it's healthy & quick to make. I really love the chewy crusts with a crisp exterior, but those are at least 1/2 white bread flour. This one doesn't have the texture that I love & doesn't rise much at all. But it is healthy & I'll use it again for all its good points. Next time I'll add 1 Tbsp. vital wheat gluten to give the dough stretchiness, producing chewiness. Will update review at that time. If inclined, do try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by retinkit
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I added garlic and onion powder to the dough...it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retinkit

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Yummy! I'll keep making this one! I love the whole-grainy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Aase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was my first attempt at making pizza dough. It couldn't have been any easier and it was delicious! The recipe makes enough for 1 large pizza with regular crust thickness. I cooked my crust for 12 minutes, topped it and then cooked it again until everything was melted and warmed through. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
So easy to make!!! It tasted sooo good and it was good for you! I substituted the wheat germ with flax seed. I would make this again and again!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States