Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was super easy but the wheat taste completely overpowered the pizza and was extremely dense. I may try again with wheat pastry flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I would rate this a four but my husband gave it a two so three it was. He and my oldest son ate very little. My one year old loves the extra texture of health food and ate his weight in our broccoli-chicken pizza. I will roll it out thinner next time and prebake for 15 minutes....note that I did say next time, so I plan to keep using this recipe with tweaking. This recipe is not for those used to white flour pasta and dough. It has the extra texture of wheat and is a little bready. I thought it tasted good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Lets face it whole wheat dough will never be as good a white dough, but I must say this is the first I really liked. Trying to eat healthier and I will definatley do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I subbed 1 cup of bread flour (so I didnt need the wheat germ). This turned out good. I baked it for maybe 10 minutes, then topped it, and put it in the fridge until just before my husband came home, then I put it in another 10-15 and it had just enough crunch, while still being slightly chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome recipe. I really really wanted to have a pizza and a healthy one too. So as I was looking for a whole wheat pizza dough recipe I came across this one. Too good to be true. I made it today and hubby was literally licking the plate clean. The only change I made in the recipe was, that I added a about 3-4 tbls of semolina flour to make it a crispy. It turned out absolutely yummy. As others have suggested I pre-baked the crust for about 10 mins at 350 ( I rolled my crust pretty thin. Also After rolling the pizza I let it rest and let it rise a little bit. Topped it with my home made spicy tomato sauce. Sprinkled on some veggies and a little bit of cheese and put it back in the oven for another 15 mins. And oh my god, the crust tasted like heaven. So much better than the one made with all purpose flour. My crust was not soggy, in fact the bottom was pretty crispy. It might be because of the semolina flour. Also I baked it on a baking sheet, covered with foil and oiled with olive oil. Guilt free pizza. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I replaced 1/3 of the whole wheat flour with oats that I ground up in a food processor. Put it in my bread machine on the dough setting. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe. I wanted to try something new, I was a tad short on time, and the recipe I usually use is a bit time consuming, although worth it. I followed the recipe exactly, only I pre-baked mine for 12 minutes at 450 like I always do. I topped it, and baked again for another 15 minutes at 400. When I cut into the pizza, my heart sank. It felt bread-y, with none of the crisp I was hoping for. The flavor was ok, but overall bland. My husband and I still ate it, after all we were hungry and it was our dinner. I use "Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust" from this site every time. It is a bit time consuming, but totally worth it. It has better flavor, and there is a bit of olive oil in the dough that I suspect is one of the things lacking in this recipe. This recipe only make 1 pizza, the one I mentioned before makes 2, with a better crisp and flavor. I will return to my favorite, and just plan my time better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
No one would eat it. I make dough all the time. As an experienced baker, I know bread and dough can be tricky, but I blame the recipe on this account. It was a huge waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was okay but was such a breeze to whip up and so healthy that it may be my new pizza recipe. Makes one pizza that's not too big but the whole wheat must make it more filling because my husband and I were totally full after 1/4 of the pizza each. I would add a little more salt and honey though...it was a bit bland. Updated 12/5/10 - I tried this again with whole wheat pastry flour, 2 tbsp honey and 2 tsp salt. Rolled it a bit thinner, too. MUCH much better. The last time when I made the original, it was a weak 4 stars...now it's a strong 4 stars. The kids raved about it and it wasn't so "thudball" with the lighter flour. PS...The dog ADORES the remnants of this crust. : )))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Keeping in mind this is a healthier choice for pizza I give this recipe 5 stars. Easy to make. Tasted better the second time I made, as i rolled dough out to a thinner crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States