Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
These turned out amazing!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Taste is good. Texture light. Didn't get crispy outside. I didn't have wheat germ so used extra 1/4 cup whole wheat flour. Would make again, but will try recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
wow! I have always avoided waffles because the only way they ever taste good is with syrup and butter. I have concocted a blueberry/applesauce topping that I started topping waffles but still felt the waffles themselves weren't terribly nutritious. but now, wow, these are so good I don't even need to top them with anything - just eat right out of the waffle iron. I made up my blueberry/applesauce but ended up adding plain non fat greek yougurt and eating separately. I did use regular applesauce so there is extra sugar there and I didn't have wheat germ but wanted to use chia seeds anyway so just substituted the 1/4 cup. The blueberries were frozen and when I thawed in microwave it creates a little juice - hence the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I was out of waffle mix so was thankful that I found this recipe! Had to sub almond milk for skim milk, olive oil for canola oil and I had no applesauce on hand so added 2 tbs of melted butter. Honestly...pretty dry. My son wouldn't eat them. I did but used a lot of syrup. I think the applesauce (or mashed pears like someone else did) would make a big difference. Still rated it high because I am sure it was my substitutions that wrecked it! Just figured I'd write the review in case you were considering similar changes, particularly omitting the apple sauce. Don't do it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I am so glad I found this recipe! I have made these many times and everyone loves them! My kids love them. I make no changes to the recipe. I also mix the dry ingredients and store the mix in a ziploc in the freezer and then add the wet ingredients when we are ready to make them. We have topped them with fresh strawberries, fresh peaches and whipped cream, vanilla syrup, homemade mapeline syrup, applesauce and cinnamon. So many options. Thank you for the great, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Overall very healthy and delicious! We had to make adjustments for my dairy free husband. So we replaced the milk with almond milk. I didn't have wheat germ so I replaced that with almond meal (although not the full 1/4 cup, I used about half of the 1/4 cup as almond meal you don't need as much of when replacing wheat germ). I also doubled up on the vanilla extract and sugar. My family loved these and we had some leftover to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is our go to waffle recipe. I always use regular ww flour and I never have flax meal so I use 1/2 cup of rolled oats. I also double the sugar & add cinnamon and cardamom to the batter. Husband & kids live them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! I make it about once a month using a Belgian waffle maker then freeze them for quick toaster breakfasts for my three year old. I did buy aluminum free baking powder and they have no metallic taste for me. Otherwise, I make exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I love this recipe! I love healthy recipes of favorite foods, and this qualifies. I use oats instead of wheat germ, but that's the only change. They are very filling. This is now my official waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe is quick, easy, healthy, and delicious! We have made it several times already. I froze them after cooking and they were still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSBe@t

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States