Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We've made these waffles many times. They're always amazing. We leave out the oil, and use whatever combo of whole wheat flour/white flour/flax seed/whatever we have. Drop in some fresh or frozen berries when you put it in the waffle maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was really good. I only used 2t of the baking soda. I didn't have any applesauce so I just used 1/2 cup oil instead 1/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil. I topped it with whipped cream and the strawberry sauce in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Very tasty! Moist and not too dense. I used mostly applesauce for oil and used all whole wheat pastry flour. I also used oat bran instead of wheat germ. I tried the following flavor combinations, mixed into the batter: pb + dry-roasted peanuts, raspberries + mini chocolate chips + fresh lemon zest and juice, mashed banana (be careful because too much will make it mushy) + chopped banana + cinnamon, and dried cherries + toasted walnuts. The peanutty one was a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Just made these. Used regular whole wheat flour vs. pastry. I didn't have the wheat germ so I compensated with extra flour and flax. I added a couple pinches of cinnamon, used almond milk in place of skim milk and used additional applesauce in place of the oil - the only problem with that is I found I had to lightly spray with Pam between each batch which wasn't a big deal. Great flavor and texture. We all LOVED these and this will be our new waffle recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These were delicious! I used whole grain flour (not pastry) and cut the flax back to 1/4 cup. Really filling and healthy, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
These turned out amazing!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Taste is good. Texture light. Didn't get crispy outside. I didn't have wheat germ so used extra 1/4 cup whole wheat flour. Would make again, but will try recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
wow! I have always avoided waffles because the only way they ever taste good is with syrup and butter. I have concocted a blueberry/applesauce topping that I started topping waffles but still felt the waffles themselves weren't terribly nutritious. but now, wow, these are so good I don't even need to top them with anything - just eat right out of the waffle iron. I made up my blueberry/applesauce but ended up adding plain non fat greek yougurt and eating separately. I did use regular applesauce so there is extra sugar there and I didn't have wheat germ but wanted to use chia seeds anyway so just substituted the 1/4 cup. The blueberries were frozen and when I thawed in microwave it creates a little juice - hence the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I was out of waffle mix so was thankful that I found this recipe! Had to sub almond milk for skim milk, olive oil for canola oil and I had no applesauce on hand so added 2 tbs of melted butter. Honestly...pretty dry. My son wouldn't eat them. I did but used a lot of syrup. I think the applesauce (or mashed pears like someone else did) would make a big difference. Still rated it high because I am sure it was my substitutions that wrecked it! Just figured I'd write the review in case you were considering similar changes, particularly omitting the apple sauce. Don't do it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Carriveau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I am so glad I found this recipe! I have made these many times and everyone loves them! My kids love them. I make no changes to the recipe. I also mix the dry ingredients and store the mix in a ziploc in the freezer and then add the wet ingredients when we are ready to make them. We have topped them with fresh strawberries, fresh peaches and whipped cream, vanilla syrup, homemade mapeline syrup, applesauce and cinnamon. So many options. Thank you for the great, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States