Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I didn't have wheat germ so I used more pastry flour instead. Light fluffy tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We've made these waffles many times. They're always amazing. We leave out the oil, and use whatever combo of whole wheat flour/white flour/flax seed/whatever we have. Drop in some fresh or frozen berries when you put it in the waffle maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was really good. I only used 2t of the baking soda. I didn't have any applesauce so I just used 1/2 cup oil instead 1/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil. I topped it with whipped cream and the strawberry sauce in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Very tasty! Moist and not too dense. I used mostly applesauce for oil and used all whole wheat pastry flour. I also used oat bran instead of wheat germ. I tried the following flavor combinations, mixed into the batter: pb + dry-roasted peanuts, raspberries + mini chocolate chips + fresh lemon zest and juice, mashed banana (be careful because too much will make it mushy) + chopped banana + cinnamon, and dried cherries + toasted walnuts. The peanutty one was a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Just made these. Used regular whole wheat flour vs. pastry. I didn't have the wheat germ so I compensated with extra flour and flax. I added a couple pinches of cinnamon, used almond milk in place of skim milk and used additional applesauce in place of the oil - the only problem with that is I found I had to lightly spray with Pam between each batch which wasn't a big deal. Great flavor and texture. We all LOVED these and this will be our new waffle recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These were delicious! I used whole grain flour (not pastry) and cut the flax back to 1/4 cup. Really filling and healthy, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
These turned out amazing!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Taste is good. Texture light. Didn't get crispy outside. I didn't have wheat germ so used extra 1/4 cup whole wheat flour. Would make again, but will try recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
wow! I have always avoided waffles because the only way they ever taste good is with syrup and butter. I have concocted a blueberry/applesauce topping that I started topping waffles but still felt the waffles themselves weren't terribly nutritious. but now, wow, these are so good I don't even need to top them with anything - just eat right out of the waffle iron. I made up my blueberry/applesauce but ended up adding plain non fat greek yougurt and eating separately. I did use regular applesauce so there is extra sugar there and I didn't have wheat germ but wanted to use chia seeds anyway so just substituted the 1/4 cup. The blueberries were frozen and when I thawed in microwave it creates a little juice - hence the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I was out of waffle mix so was thankful that I found this recipe! Had to sub almond milk for skim milk, olive oil for canola oil and I had no applesauce on hand so added 2 tbs of melted butter. Honestly...pretty dry. My son wouldn't eat them. I did but used a lot of syrup. I think the applesauce (or mashed pears like someone else did) would make a big difference. Still rated it high because I am sure it was my substitutions that wrecked it! Just figured I'd write the review in case you were considering similar changes, particularly omitting the apple sauce. Don't do it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States