Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I've tested and tried many waffle recipes....This is an awesome recipe...rated really good by my grandson. Since I started it without looking at all the ingredients I needed to make a few adjustments and they still came out great. Substitutions: Instead of 1 3/4 skim milk used 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk + 1/4 cup of homogenized milk; Instead of 1/4 cup canola used mostly Olive oil and a splash of grapeseed oil (just ran out of olive oil); No WW Pastry flour used regular WW flour; Instead of 1/4 cup wheatgerm used 1/4 cup NutraCleanse; Used Bakers Organic Baking Powder (Aluminum Free); Instead of 1 Tbsp Sugar used 1 Tbsp Via (Stevia; and forgot to add the the salt! No Oil Spray, so lightly brushed the waffle griddle with grapeseed oil. The batch turned out light and fluffy. Grandson Samuel loved them so much>>>my new favorite recipe!! {Will keep using the NutraCleanse instead of Wheat Germ}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I make this frequently when our adult children brings friends to our beach home. I make a bunch, break them into quarters and as guests get up, they put them in the toaster to heat and crisp up. Perfect with the blueberry sauce recipe from this website!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Whole Grain Waffles Haiku: "Outside was crispy, and perfectly soft inside. Hearty yet light too." My wheat germ had a funky smell so I subbed in quick-cooking oats, and used just whole wheat flour rather than WW pastry flour. Ate mine w/ a pat of butter and a sprinkle of pomegranate seeds on top and was in heaven, even though my intention was to make them all to freeze for my teething baby as she likes to gnaw on frozen waffles as the square ridges feel good on her gums, and I feel good about letting her eat a waffle w/ these ingredients in it rather than store-brand frozen ones. I'll be nice and share some w/ her, but I could eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
These were great! I only had roasted flax seeds, and was afraid so much would be too strong for the kids, so I replaced half with hemp hearts and chia. I also added cinnamon. Delicious!! I think my dad would even like these when he visits, as long as he doesn't see all the healthy grains going into them. My one mistake: I read a review mentioning that this recipe only makes 6 waffles, and immediately decided to double the recipe. I should've realized that reviewer probably had a nice, big Belgian waffle maker. I was at my (gifted) little animal shape waffle iron for almost two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Best waffles ever!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I love this recipe. I used whole wheat flour but other then that made as written. Second time didn't use salt though and substituted canola oil with applesauce. Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Highly recommended! These don't have a strong flavor, but the texture is great and the lack of a strong flavor means they don't have to be buried in toppings to taste the toppings. In fact, they are excellent with REAL maple syrup, which, to me, has a lighter flavor than the corn stuff (Mrs. Butterworth, Aunt Jemima, Log Cabin, etc)--these carry that light flavor well. They also work well with berry sauces and they are excellent with fresh ground peanut butter (again, they carry the more subtle flavor very well). Using the applesauce and sugar variations described below, I prepared these on a 7-inch Belgian waffle maker (slightly under-filled--I don't like the risk of mess it takes to make them perfect) and weighed all ingredients to calculate calories. Each 7-inch waffle was between 195 and 220 calories. Not too bad for a 7-inch carb disk My variations: Canola Oil: From here on, I will replace the oil with applesauce. I have used olive oil to replace the canola and I have simply replaced the oil with applesauce (1/4 C to fully replace the oil). I didn't notice a difference. Sugar: I have used sugar and I have replaced the sugar with 1/2 TBS Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and 1/2 TBS Stevia. Again... I haven't noticed a difference either way. (Next time, I'm just going to avoid a sweetener because I don't even pick it up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These were great! I didn't have applesauce, so I chopped up part of an apple & used my magic bullet to mash it up. It was still a little chunky, but just added more flavor, IMHO. I also used all whole wheat flour, and oatmeal, since I didn't have any wheat bran. Oh, and brown sugar. Thought they were great!! Will probably add cinnamon next time for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reluctantcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
On previewing the recipe and seeing "Serves 6", I doubled the recipe for our sometimes ravenous children. These waffles are REALLY filling! I followed the recipe and used all ingredients listed. The batter rose nicely in my 8" by 9" waffle maker. The double recipe produced about 6.5 full 8x9 waffles. I had leftovers! The extras were cooled on a rack, and will be frozen for toaster waffles... WAY cheaper than the pre-packaged ones, and far more satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CulinaryExperimenter
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe that you can quickly whip up and feel like your family is having a (fairly) healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States