Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very tasty!!!! I omitted the applesauce because I was out. I used oat bran rather than wheat germ. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
These are easy to make and delicious! I have been trying to switch everything to whole grain for my daughter and she loves these, asks for them every morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I am so happy to have a healthy waffle recipe that tastes fabulous too! I made this for my two teenage daughters and it got rave reviews from both of them. I had blueberry applesauce, so used that. It gave them a nice blueberry scent, but it wasn't recognizable in the waffles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Wow! These waffles are absolutely amazing. My two preschoolers wolfed them down. My husband usually complains when I make anything with whole grains, but even he admitted they were really good. I didn't use any canola oil -- just used applesauce in its place and used half white sugar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
they were much better than i expected! I thought it would be a heavy, dense, bland waffle, but they were light, crispy, and a ?nutty? flavor. I used my Babycakes waffle stick maker, and the kids grabbed them and ate them with no complaints (which is something to be said!) We are going to test freezing them so my husband has a healthier premade breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I used 1 mashed ripe banana instead of applesauce, vegetable oil instead of canola oil, 1 1/4 50/50 whole wheat/white flour instead of 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup all purpose flour. Processed 1/2 cup of flax seeds in spice grinder to replace flax meal. 3 TBLS Splenda. and a dash of almond extract to enhance the "nutty" flavor. Baking powder is key to the fluffy texture. Freeze left overs; they toast up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These were AMAZING! I followed some of the substitutions others suggested (oats for flaxseed), (white whole wheat flower for pastry flour and all purpose flour) and (coconut oil for canola oil and applesauce). Just a note on the coconut oil - add that as the very last ingredient (after slightly warmed in microwave to liquify). I added cold milk right after the coconut oil, and since it is solid at room temp - the cold milk made it go right back to solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I haven't been able to get flax, whole wheat waffles past 4 picky kids until now. I cheated and added 2tbsp of cocoa just to hide the darker color of the wheat and flax. Bam, they ate them up! Super crispy and delicious. I put the left overs in the freezer and they toast up beautifully the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is the best waffle recipe I've ever used and super simple. I love the fact that I don't have to beat the eggs whites to get the crisp outside and soft fluffy inside that I love. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States