Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Really good waffle, very satisfying. I sprinkled on some chopped pecans before I closed the iron, and this was my only change to the recipe. This is a heavy batter for waffles, and they take a little longer than usual to get brown and crispy, so you may need to adjust the cooking heat to avoid over-browning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very tasty! We all enjoyed them very much! I exchanged wheat germ for wheat bran because I thought I was out of germ (I wasn't, I saw later, but it tasted fine). I'll make again! I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I did 3/4 c. whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
YUMMY, EASY, FAST! I did substitute teff flour for the flax seed meal, and regular whole wheat flour but can't be that different. I cooked them in our belgian waffle maker and they came out so light and fluffy for a whole wheat product! I originally tried for high protein snack food for my daughter but I love them and will be my new go to waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Just made these and they were delicious! I did add 2 tablespoons of chia seeds but followed the recipe otherwise. I will make more and freeze them for easy breakfasts. I put peanut butter, cinnamon, and raisins on them. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Awesome! I used 1% because that is what I had, skipped the wheat germ because I didn't have any, and used blueberry unsweetened apple sauce as that is also what I had. Will double the recipe next time to freeze some. Made 10 waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Recipe trifecta: healthful, tasty, and my kids love them! This s now my go-to waffle recipe. I make a double batch on the weekend and freeze the leftovers for quick, easy weekday breakfasts, topped with peanut or almond butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These were excellent! I used ¼ cup flax and ½ cup oatmeal instead of the germ and brown sugar instead of white. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seventy7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Really great waffle recipe, did everything as stated except the flax (didn't have any on hand). Turned out light and crispy- all four kids gobbled them up! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Absolutely great! I didn't have applesauce, so I just mashed some apples in a pot for a fake homemade applesauce. I made a yogurt syrup with greek yogurt, maple syrup, sugar and and vanilla extract. Than I sautéed some apples and topped it with hazelnuts. With the yogurt, apples, and nuts, this was so decadent but healthy. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I don't know if Wheat Bran is the same thing as Wheat Germ, but all I could find at Kroger in Durham NC was Wheat Bran. I made this recipe with that substitution and it came out great. My wife is hypoglycemic but she has a huge sweet tooth. This recipe plus the Honey Apple Topping recipe satisfied her craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States