Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I love this recipe. I used whole wheat flour but other then that made as written. Second time didn't use salt though and substituted canola oil with applesauce. Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Highly recommended! These don't have a strong flavor, but the texture is great and the lack of a strong flavor means they don't have to be buried in toppings to taste the toppings. In fact, they are excellent with REAL maple syrup, which, to me, has a lighter flavor than the corn stuff (Mrs. Butterworth, Aunt Jemima, Log Cabin, etc)--these carry that light flavor well. They also work well with berry sauces and they are excellent with fresh ground peanut butter (again, they carry the more subtle flavor very well). Using the applesauce and sugar variations described below, I prepared these on a 7-inch Belgian waffle maker (slightly under-filled--I don't like the risk of mess it takes to make them perfect) and weighed all ingredients to calculate calories. Each 7-inch waffle was between 195 and 220 calories. Not too bad for a 7-inch carb disk My variations: Canola Oil: From here on, I will replace the oil with applesauce. I have used olive oil to replace the canola and I have simply replaced the oil with applesauce (1/4 C to fully replace the oil). I didn't notice a difference. Sugar: I have used sugar and I have replaced the sugar with 1/2 TBS Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and 1/2 TBS Stevia. Again... I haven't noticed a difference either way. (Next time, I'm just going to avoid a sweetener because I don't even pick it up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These were great! I didn't have applesauce, so I chopped up part of an apple & used my magic bullet to mash it up. It was still a little chunky, but just added more flavor, IMHO. I also used all whole wheat flour, and oatmeal, since I didn't have any wheat bran. Oh, and brown sugar. Thought they were great!! Will probably add cinnamon next time for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reluctantcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
On previewing the recipe and seeing "Serves 6", I doubled the recipe for our sometimes ravenous children. These waffles are REALLY filling! I followed the recipe and used all ingredients listed. The batter rose nicely in my 8" by 9" waffle maker. The double recipe produced about 6.5 full 8x9 waffles. I had leftovers! The extras were cooled on a rack, and will be frozen for toaster waffles... WAY cheaper than the pre-packaged ones, and far more satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CulinaryExperimenter
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe that you can quickly whip up and feel like your family is having a (fairly) healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I wanted to wean my daughter of egos with something healthier. I made this but substituted more canoloa oil for the apple sauce and whole white wheat all purpose flour for the flax seed meal, wheat germ and half of the pastry flour. I also added just sprinkle of cinnamon that I swirled into the batter to give that amazing waffle smell and taste. She loved these and said they were much better than the store bought waffles, so it all went much better and smoother than I anticipated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is a delicious HEALTHIER and kid-friendly recipe. We added 1/3 cup of bittersweet chocolate chips to the batter. The kids (4 1/2) gobbled them up, without adding any maple syrup. We didn't have any wheat germ so we substituted with more all-purpose flour. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have been making this recipe for several years, at least once a week. My entire (picky) family loves them. The texture is amazingly light, and they are obviously healthy compared to regular waffles which aren't nearly as good. Over the years, I've found that if I switch ingredient brands, they come out differently. Make these waffles exactly as written. The best ingredient brand is Bob's Red Mill (they make the whole wheat pastry flour). I recently used a different brand of flax seed meal until it ran out, and the batter was always runny. When I buy Bob's flour, flax and wheat germ, they always turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Loved this recipe. I bought all the ingredients because I knew I would be making these over and over. My husband loves waffles and I wanted to give him a healthy alternative. He loves them, as do I. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Don't care for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States