Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are very flavorful waffles. I used applesauce in place of the oil and since I didn't have flax seed meal I used oatmeal (as other reviewers suggested). These were great!! I recieved a waffle maker for Mothers Day and have been looking for a whole wheat/whole grain recipe to try. My only complaint was that they weren't crispy. that may be my fault -- still learning how to use my first waffle maker. Don't know what I'm doing wrong. These were great and we had plenty to freeze for later -- I'm sure they'll be crispy from the toaster! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is an excellent, tasty, easy recipe. We are trying to modify our diet to more healthy choices, and this is so good, the kids don't even know it's good for them. Top with strawberries or cashew butter instead of syrup for a change of pace. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Did not have flax meal, so added additional wheat germ. Yummy just the same. I thought these would be heavy, but they weren't. We ate with homemade strawberry compote and homemade blueberry compote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Finally I have found the perfect waffle recipe!!!!! I've been toying with recipes for at about six months. This is PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
A great recipe. This is my first review even though I use All Recipes a lot. This recipe warranted a thumbs up. My kids love the waffles; they are easy to make, and they are so healthy. Love, love, love. I substituted whole wheat flour for pastry flour, and used oatmeal instead of wheat germ. Nothing else was changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is one of those delightful recipes that is healthy, versatile, tasty, and LIGHT in texture. I get 5 Belgium waffles out of the original recipe. (wheat germ and flax seed are not the same. One is from the outside of the wheat kernel, the other is ground flax seed. They are similar in texture.) The flax seed gives some oil to help with crispness of the baked waffle. The oil and applesauce lend themselves to substituting other things (banana, sweet potato, potato, etc.) I've substituted the a.p. flour with other flours (including whole wheat)...if i'm short, but I use 1 cup white ww or plain ww as a rule as that's sort of the point of this recipe. I sub ingredients for variety or if I'm short, but this recipe needs no modifications or improvements in our opinion. I use my Misto to prep my waffle iron for the first waffle...then nothing further. No sticking problems. My go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I used to like Belgian waffles........ now I LOVE 'em! What an incredible recipe........ so good I feel like I'm gettin' away with something. Anyone that doesn't like these has either lost their mind or has a palette better suited to Twinkies and Cheetos. I HATE to rate and then offer changes......... but as Martha Stewart once said (okay MORE than once), "It's a good thing." Use whole wheat pastry flour for ALL the flour. Add 1 tsp. of cinnamon and substitute an additional quarter cup of unsweetened applesauce for the oil. You'll never miss the oil. I used Vanilla Almond milk instead of skim........... and it was awesome. As written, this recipe will give you the best Belgian waffles you ever ate. With the changes........they're just a bit healthier. What a Dish is right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made these for my kids this morning. My first attempt (ever) at making waffles, and they love 'em! I substituted the canola oil with coconut oil, white flour with oat flour and the sugar with stevia and they came out great. I'll be making a big batch next time and freezing them up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLORA33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Phenomenal! I've never given a 5-star rating, but this deserves it. Healthy, with great flavor and a light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Delicious! Will put this in my regular breakfast rotation! I made similar changes to those suggested: swapped out the canola for applesauce (making it 1/2 c applesauce and no canola oil), swapped old fashioned oats for flax (didn't have flax), used wheat bran for wheat germ and whole wheat flour for the whole wheat pastry flour. Also, instead of 1T sugar, used 2t Splenda and 1 t brown sugar. Sifted flour for added fluffiness. Batter slightly too runny so would start with 1 and 1/2 c milk and add a bit more as needed to thin it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States