Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Overall very healthy and delicious! We had to make adjustments for my dairy free husband. So we replaced the milk with almond milk. I didn't have wheat germ so I replaced that with almond meal (although not the full 1/4 cup, I used about half of the 1/4 cup as almond meal you don't need as much of when replacing wheat germ). I also doubled up on the vanilla extract and sugar. My family loved these and we had some leftover to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is our go to waffle recipe. I always use regular ww flour and I never have flax meal so I use 1/2 cup of rolled oats. I also double the sugar & add cinnamon and cardamom to the batter. Husband & kids live them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! I make it about once a month using a Belgian waffle maker then freeze them for quick toaster breakfasts for my three year old. I did buy aluminum free baking powder and they have no metallic taste for me. Otherwise, I make exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I love this recipe! I love healthy recipes of favorite foods, and this qualifies. I use oats instead of wheat germ, but that's the only change. They are very filling. This is now my official waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe is quick, easy, healthy, and delicious! We have made it several times already. I froze them after cooking and they were still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSBe@t

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! These get really crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have flax seed, so I used quick cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
So much better than regular waffles! My husband likes to make whole wheat pancakes which I'm not a big fan of, so when he said he wanted to make whole wheat waffles I wasn't very enthusiastic. Gave them a try and I couldn't believe how good they were. Don't let the ingredients turn you away from this recipe if you don't have all of them. Just make a point to buy the ones you don't have next time you go to the store. Moo-ey Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
great recipe! I used some substitutes. Used no oil or flax and upped the oats to 1/2 cup, also reduced the baking soda to 1 tbs and used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I had to use spray oil on griddle to stop from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Delicious waffles. Will make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These came out beautifully! I did make some changes though...as I am fond of experimenting. I used regular whole wheat flour, left out the white flour, sugar, wheat germ, and flaxseed meal (sorta-see below). Then I subbed sunflower seed oil instead of canola oil (I think I'll use extra apple sauce instead next time), I also subbed 2 tablespoons of flaxseed meal soaked for 2 minutes in 6 tablespoons of water instead of 2 eggs, I mixed in about 1/4 cup each of whole flaxseed, Bob's Red Mill rolled oats, and wheat bran. Also, next time I think I'll use unsweetened almond milk instead of skim milk. I spread my mother-in-law's pumpkin butter on my waffles instead of syrup and it was heavenly! Love this recipe even though I changed so much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delmandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States