Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
My 17 month old LOVES this recipe! I made him waffles from a regular box mix yesterday and he took one bite and pushed the plate away. I love them also. They're perfect! I did change it a little because I didn't have wheat germ or flax seed. So I ground 3/4c old fashioned oats to flour, use all whole wheat flour (so 1-1/4c), and increase the vanilla to 1T. Awesome!! I bought some flax seed so I will be trying that tomorrow with a new batch. Also, I ususally make a batch at the beginning of the week and freeze them. I warm 1/4 of a waffle in the microwave for about 45s, making sure to turn it half way through. They are so good and light and fluffy when they are fresh are previously frozen. I used to put them in the oven to warm but they end up a little too crisp and he cant eat them on his own with his fork, but I prefer them from the micro. When I make a fresh batch, for me I add 1/2c of mini chocolate chips onto the batter once it's in the waffle iron... so good! Then I freeze the rest in a freezer bag and pull them out as needed. My son ask for these. Actually he asked for them for dinner tonight! I've been making this recipe for 3 months and don't think I will ever switch! These are the best waffles ever and the fact that they are healthy is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Delicious, fluffy, nutrtious pancakes that my children and I loved! Thank you! I omitted the oil, and used 1/2 cup of applesauce and used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
these waffles are delicious! i used oatmeal instead of flax seed meal and wheat germ, and regular whole wheat flour instead of the pastry flour. exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I really LOVE these waffles! I don't make any changes to the recipe and our whole family enjoys them- even the kids! It's so hard to believe they are so full of healthy ingredients. I did find that I have to spray the waffle iron before each waffle, or these will stick- more than the waffle mix I used to use. But that's not a problem. I turn the oven on about 200 degrees, and place the cooked waffles in there, spread out on a sheet pan, while I'm finishing up the batch. This seems to help crispen up the outside a little. Otherwise, they seem a little too soft on the outside. The first time I didn't have w/w pastry flour, and they were ok, but they are much better with it. This is the only waffle recipe I will ever use again! So amazing! And filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have just recently ventured into the world of "flaxseed meal" and "wheat germ" so I was a little hesitant but, oh man, am I glad I tried these! These are amazing - so good, I even eat them without any syrup. I did make a huge batch and froze them for quick weekday breakfasts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Really good waffle, very satisfying. I sprinkled on some chopped pecans before I closed the iron, and this was my only change to the recipe. This is a heavy batter for waffles, and they take a little longer than usual to get brown and crispy, so you may need to adjust the cooking heat to avoid over-browning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very tasty! We all enjoyed them very much! I exchanged wheat germ for wheat bran because I thought I was out of germ (I wasn't, I saw later, but it tasted fine). I'll make again! I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I did 3/4 c. whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
YUMMY, EASY, FAST! I did substitute teff flour for the flax seed meal, and regular whole wheat flour but can't be that different. I cooked them in our belgian waffle maker and they came out so light and fluffy for a whole wheat product! I originally tried for high protein snack food for my daughter but I love them and will be my new go to waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Just made these and they were delicious! I did add 2 tablespoons of chia seeds but followed the recipe otherwise. I will make more and freeze them for easy breakfasts. I put peanut butter, cinnamon, and raisins on them. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Awesome! I used 1% because that is what I had, skipped the wheat germ because I didn't have any, and used blueberry unsweetened apple sauce as that is also what I had. Will double the recipe next time to freeze some. Made 10 waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States