Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made these for my kids this morning. My first attempt (ever) at making waffles, and they love 'em! I substituted the canola oil with coconut oil, white flour with oat flour and the sugar with stevia and they came out great. I'll be making a big batch next time and freezing them up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLORA33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Phenomenal! I've never given a 5-star rating, but this deserves it. Healthy, with great flavor and a light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Delicious! Will put this in my regular breakfast rotation! I made similar changes to those suggested: swapped out the canola for applesauce (making it 1/2 c applesauce and no canola oil), swapped old fashioned oats for flax (didn't have flax), used wheat bran for wheat germ and whole wheat flour for the whole wheat pastry flour. Also, instead of 1T sugar, used 2t Splenda and 1 t brown sugar. Sifted flour for added fluffiness. Batter slightly too runny so would start with 1 and 1/2 c milk and add a bit more as needed to thin it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
The texture and flavor of these waffles is excellent: much better than other whole grain recipes I have tried. I do 100% whole wheat flour (freshly ground), and don't think it's necessary to put in any all-purpose flour. You can also sub yogurt or mashed banana for the applesauce if you don't have any applesauce- it won't change the flavor or texture much, and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I thought these waffles were tasteless... It might be good if I add blueberries or something extra in it. It was very moist but I like my waffles abit crispier. Ill have to try it again, I just got a new waffle iron so it might be because of that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Really good. Great to freeze for later for school days or when you're late for work and need a nutritious filling quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great, just great. My kids love waffles and I wanted a healthier version so this was just perfect. I addes an extra tablespoon of suger and they were sweat enough to eat with out any extras like syrup or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Wow! I was completely surprised at how light and crisp these turned out. I never would have guessed that they are whole grain. My whole family loved them. Before finding this recipe, the only whole grain waffles my husband would eat was an expensive store bought brand. This is the new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Delicious! I used 1.25 cups whole wheat flour, instead of 1 cup whole wheat flour + 0.25 cups all purpose flour. I replaced the sugar with Splenda, and I added a dash of cinnamon. Probably the best waffles I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States