Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These were AMAZING! I followed some of the substitutions others suggested (oats for flaxseed), (white whole wheat flower for pastry flour and all purpose flour) and (coconut oil for canola oil and applesauce). Just a note on the coconut oil - add that as the very last ingredient (after slightly warmed in microwave to liquify). I added cold milk right after the coconut oil, and since it is solid at room temp - the cold milk made it go right back to solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I haven't been able to get flax, whole wheat waffles past 4 picky kids until now. I cheated and added 2tbsp of cocoa just to hide the darker color of the wheat and flax. Bam, they ate them up! Super crispy and delicious. I put the left overs in the freezer and they toast up beautifully the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is the best waffle recipe I've ever used and super simple. I love the fact that I don't have to beat the eggs whites to get the crisp outside and soft fluffy inside that I love. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are very flavorful waffles. I used applesauce in place of the oil and since I didn't have flax seed meal I used oatmeal (as other reviewers suggested). These were great!! I recieved a waffle maker for Mothers Day and have been looking for a whole wheat/whole grain recipe to try. My only complaint was that they weren't crispy. that may be my fault -- still learning how to use my first waffle maker. Don't know what I'm doing wrong. These were great and we had plenty to freeze for later -- I'm sure they'll be crispy from the toaster! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is an excellent, tasty, easy recipe. We are trying to modify our diet to more healthy choices, and this is so good, the kids don't even know it's good for them. Top with strawberries or cashew butter instead of syrup for a change of pace. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Did not have flax meal, so added additional wheat germ. Yummy just the same. I thought these would be heavy, but they weren't. We ate with homemade strawberry compote and homemade blueberry compote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Finally I have found the perfect waffle recipe!!!!! I've been toying with recipes for at about six months. This is PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
A great recipe. This is my first review even though I use All Recipes a lot. This recipe warranted a thumbs up. My kids love the waffles; they are easy to make, and they are so healthy. Love, love, love. I substituted whole wheat flour for pastry flour, and used oatmeal instead of wheat germ. Nothing else was changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is one of those delightful recipes that is healthy, versatile, tasty, and LIGHT in texture. I get 5 Belgium waffles out of the original recipe. (wheat germ and flax seed are not the same. One is from the outside of the wheat kernel, the other is ground flax seed. They are similar in texture.) The flax seed gives some oil to help with crispness of the baked waffle. The oil and applesauce lend themselves to substituting other things (banana, sweet potato, potato, etc.) I've substituted the a.p. flour with other flours (including whole wheat)...if i'm short, but I use 1 cup white ww or plain ww as a rule as that's sort of the point of this recipe. I sub ingredients for variety or if I'm short, but this recipe needs no modifications or improvements in our opinion. I use my Misto to prep my waffle iron for the first waffle...then nothing further. No sticking problems. My go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I used to like Belgian waffles........ now I LOVE 'em! What an incredible recipe........ so good I feel like I'm gettin' away with something. Anyone that doesn't like these has either lost their mind or has a palette better suited to Twinkies and Cheetos. I HATE to rate and then offer changes......... but as Martha Stewart once said (okay MORE than once), "It's a good thing." Use whole wheat pastry flour for ALL the flour. Add 1 tsp. of cinnamon and substitute an additional quarter cup of unsweetened applesauce for the oil. You'll never miss the oil. I used Vanilla Almond milk instead of skim........... and it was awesome. As written, this recipe will give you the best Belgian waffles you ever ate. With the changes........they're just a bit healthier. What a Dish is right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States